banana millet chocolate chunk muffins

It appears I already have 8 muffin recipes on the blog. I went through a major muffin kick last summer – I think I was baking up a new batch each week for breakfasts and snacks, but then somehow ended up repeating the Banana Millet Muffins over and over again because they were so good! Millet seeds are my absolute favorite muffin ingredient – I just love the crunch that they provide and the nutritional boost they add.

When I saw a recipe on Foodbuzz for Banana Bread Muffins with Millet and Chocolate, I knew I was going to have to make some ASAP. I ended up taking quite a few liberties with the recipe to make a healthier final product, and even though they didn’t quite look like a bakery muffin, they were quite tasty. And provided a nice little twist from the Banana Millet Muffins :).

Banana Millet Chocolate Chunk Muffins

  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1T honey or agave (optional – I left out, but if your bananas aren’t as ripe you may want to consider adding some sweetener)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2c oat flour (ground from gluten free oats)
  • 1/2c millet flour
  • 1/4c sorghum flour
  • 1/4c ground flax
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup millet, toasted
  • 1/2 bar chunked dark chocolate
  1. In a large bowl, mash up the bananas and add in the melted coconut oil, honey or agave, egg and vanilla. Mix well.
  2. In a smaller bowl, combine the oat, millet, sorghum flours with the flax, baking soda, salt and toasted millet seeds.
  3. Add the wet ingredients into the dry, and mix.
  4. Fold in the chunked chocolate.
  5. Scoop into a prepared muffin pan and bake in a preheated 350* oven for 22-24 minutes.

Looks like muffin recipe #9 is complete!

3 thoughts on “banana millet chocolate chunk muffins

  1. I am so happy to see both millet AND coconut oil in one recipe!
    Particularly the coconut oil. Do you do a 1:1 swap between butter and coconut oil? I would love to hear more about your experiences using it. I have been trying to come up with a natural, non-dairy sub for butter for baking. My hunch was on coconut oil but wasn’t totally sure how to make the swap.

    • Sorry – I just found your comment in my spam! For replacing fats I typically do 1:1 if I keep the recipe the same. I’ve used oil in cookies before too and maybe use a little less than I would have used if it was butter, but there was no reason for it haha. The original recipe called for I think two sticks of butter, so it was drastically cut down from there to make it healthier, so it’s really up to you and experimenting with what makes the best results and what you want in the end. I’d say you’d get a fairly similar product subbing 1:1, but it would get expensive with coconut oil!

Leave a comment