nashville 2012: week 2

A little late on my recap from last week – I was way too busy being lazy and unproductive this weekend to write anything, or spend any time in the kitchen haha. My week at work was very busy, so it was definitely nice to have some down time to finally relax! Anyways, here are my workouts from last week:

Sunday: Yoga Body Bootcamp™
Monday: 5k run + 1m walk
Tuesday: Insanity Pure Cardio & Cardio Abs
Wednesday: 5k run + 1m walk
Thursday: Power Vinyasa
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 6m run

Pretty similar to last week and still right on track with the training plan! The only thing that wasn’t similar to last week was how difficult my 6 mile run was – it was not a fun time. I set out for a surprisingly warm February run, quickly shedding my gloves and earmuffs and wishing I had a t-shirt on underneath so I could shed a layer! The run was both mentally and physically exhausting for me and I’m not exactly sure why. Yes, it is the longest distance I’ve run since the Disney 1/2 Marathon, but I’ve also run this distance many many times in the past – even several 10k races that are technically .2 miles longer.

I knew it wasn’t going to be the best run right away, my legs felt heavy, my stomach felt off and I was already getting sweaty. And at that point there was still 5.9 miles to go! I thought about doing two loops just in case my stomach ended up feeling really bad, so I went toward my normal week day route even though I’m not a huge fan of that for longer/daylight runs. I ended up feeling fine stomach-wise, but my legs still felt tight and I obviously kept getting warmer and warmer. I ran around the first block and decided to just go out 3 miles and come back to eliminate the multiple loops I was originally planning. I think it was definitely a good choice to just go out and back, because it would have been way too easy to just head back home after the first loop!

I ended up taking numerous walking breaks and finished the run averaging exactly 11 minute miles. The course I ended up taking left me with a mile walk back at the end which was a very welcomed cool-down. I definitely wish this run would have gone better, but I do have many more weeks to go before running 13.1, and hopefully gain the confidence I need that apparently left me so quickly! I have another 6 mile run next Saturday – so here’s to hoping that one is less mentally and physically exhausting!

One productive thing I did this weekend was finally buy new running shoes! I’ve been debating what kind I wanted to buy. I haven’t liked my current ones so I knew I wanted something different. I ended up deciding on the Rykä Aspire. They appear to be a good medium between supportive and barefoot, so I’m hoping there’s enough cushion to avoid tendonitis again, but not too much to overcorrect my natural stride. Plus, I love the colors :). I got them from Zappos which is extremely nice because if I end up not liking them, it’s free return shipping! The standard shipping is 5 business days – I ordered them last night and already got a shipping confirmation – and it says they actually shipped with two day shipping?! So excited to try them out!

7 thoughts on “nashville 2012: week 2

  1. Oh I hate feeling that way on a run! I usually know right away if I am going to have a good one. I don’t run all of the time, but when I have a bad one I feel like I have bricks tied around my ankles. 🙂
    Way to stick with it!
    Love the shoes!

    • I know – I think most of it is in my head but I swear my legs feel heavier some days! Hopefully the shoes help – I got them in the mail today and am going to take them out tomorrow morning!

  2. Pingback: nashville 2012: week 3 | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

