nashville 2012: week 3

The end of this week marks the end of the first quarter of my training plan! After my not-so-fun 6 miler last week, my calves were a bit sore. Obviously when I’m mentally struggling through a run, my form must change and thus impact my next run or two… Or maybe it was just the super challenging but awesome Yoga Body Bootcamp™ this week?! Here were my workouts last week.

Sunday: Yoga Body Bootcamp™
Monday: 3.5m run + ~.5m walk and Cardio/Strength Workout
Tuesday: Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance
Wednesday: 3.5m run and a Medicine Ball Circuit Workout
Thursday: Power Vinyasa Podcast Party!
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 6m run

The routine at Yoga Body Bootcamp™ this week kicked my butt! I am so addicted to this class now I look forward to it every week and am never disappointed. I always leave the class so incredibly detoxed and relaxes – it’s a fabulous way to start a Sunday!

I chickened out on my weekly runs this week. My training plan had said 3.5m run + 1m walk, but it was too cold that I didn’t end up walking the full mile at the end – plus I hadn’t mentally realized that running a 1/2 mile extra would take more time in the morning and my bed has been too cosy so getting myself up to leave was a challenge in and of itself ;).

Insanity was good – I’m still enjoying the change of pace it provides and am super stoked for Insanity Asylum! I’m glad sister is more obsessed with Insanity than I am so when I told her about this she instantly bought it… even if it won’t be used seriously for a few more months haha.

One thing I changed up this week was adding more strength training exercises in the mix. I am really bad at sticking with any sort of strength training routine and it often ends up falling to the wayside… but that all changes now as I have signed up for Tina Reale’s Best Body Bootcamp! I’ve obviously got a thing for bootcamps lately :).

The bootcamp starts on March 5th (last day to sign up is March 4th) and it sounds like it’ll be amazing. The cost is only $25… half the price of a gym membership for a month and it’s 8 full weeks of workouts! The cardio is only suggested, so I will be mostly doing it for the strength workouts and keep up with the running. I’m very excited to get the workouts this week, not to mention all of the giveaways she’s offering over the course of the bootcamp! (I’m secretly hoping I win Physique 57, Love Grown Foods granola or the Sparkly Soul Headbands… but I’m not picky 😉 ).

I usually don’t write about my Thursday night yoga classes, but we did something different this week that was great! The regular teacher wasn’t there, and the sub (and teacher of Yoga Body Bootcamp) was sick so she asked if we would be interested in doing a little podcast party instead of her teaching the class. None of us minded one bit, so we did an 80 minute Live Love Teach Podcast and it was a really nice change of pace. It was taught by three different master teachers who run the Live Love Teach yoga teaching program. I’m not a fan of yoga DVDs because I find them too staged and slow moving… definitely not the same with podcasts! It was recorded at a real yoga class and you can definitely tell the difference! My favorite part was the 5+ minute frog… it hurt so much I wanted to cry by the end of it, but my hips haven’t felt so good in ages!

Now finally on to the long run! Yikes, I’m long winded with my other workouts today ;). My second six miler was SO MUCH BETTER than last week! I think my conscious effort of being positive about this run made me enjoy it rather than wishing for it to be over. My new kicks might have had something to do with it too?! I got to wear these on Wednesday + Saturday and am in love. Zero muscle aches from changing shoes and zero blisters – always a good sign!

5 thoughts on “nashville 2012: week 3

  1. So excited for Insanity!!!! And sad that I can’t do the best body bootcamp with you… but knowing me, if I sign up for that, I will end up doing too much 😦 But I am very excited to see what workouts you get to do!!!!! And what prizes you win! Oh, and did I say, I ❤ Insanity?

    • I love podcasts! I remember doing a Dave Farmer one last summer and really liked it, but for some reason haven’t done one since. And if you like interval training – Insanity is the best! It’ll definitely kick your butt but you get a little recovery in between the exercises ;).

  2. Pingback: what i ate wednesday #19 | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

