nashville 2012: week 1

Week 1 of Nashville training = done. Only eleven to go! Man, I have a feeling the next few months are going to fly :).

I stayed right on track with my training this week:

Sunday: Yoga Body Bootcamp™
Monday: 5k run + 1m walk
Tuesday: Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance
Wednesday: 5k run + 1m walk & Insanity Cardio Recovery
Thursday: Power Vinyasa
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 5m run

I really enjoyed all of my workouts this week, definitely a good start to training haha. Sister and I have been sitting on $30 of iTunes money since Christmas, and we finally decided to cash in part of it for some new tunes for our runs this morning. That definitely helped my motivation this morning! I was really worried that the weather was going to be super awful as the wind forecast was 17mph… I ended up being very happy when I woke up and couldn’t hear the wind outside! It was also sunny (sure sign of coldness, but I can’t really complain with how fair the weather has been for Wisconsin this winter). Weather.com tells me it was about 7* and only 12-13mph winds. Not too bad?

Well, I bundled up with two pairs of pants, a t-shirt, long sleeve t-shirt and sweatshirt, two pairs of socks, two pairs of gloves and a headband. I put on my iPod with the following playlist, and headed into the cold!

It was SO cold starting out, I was chilled, but the coldness was nothing compared to the blown over snow/not shoveled show on the sidewalks – so annoying! There were some places where the snow was a few inches deep, and then the snow was sticking to the bottoms of my shoes so my feet started to feel really heavy. The coldness didn’t bother me at all. I was actually quite overdressed and ended up being sweaty within a mile and a half. I was originally going to do a normal out and back route, but ended up taking a little longer route back so I could have a cool down 1/2 mile walk at the end. Even though I was over-temping and my legs were getting tired from the snow running, I pushed through the miles and ended up surprising myself with the pace I managed! I wonder if it was the music, or the just wanting to be done running in the snow that helped? I even took a couple walking breaks at the halfway point and a little later when I was in a big snow patch.

This is definitely a good way for my training to start out since my confidence in my running abilities barely exist ;). It’s only up from here on out! Hope you all have a fabulous Saturday!

7 thoughts on “nashville 2012: week 1

  1. Kelsey,

    While I’m not running this particular 1/2 marathon, I too started training this week for the Kentucky Derby 1/2 marathon on April 28th in Louisville. So…we are on a similar schedule! Good luck!

    Tabitha

  2. You had a great week! 🙂 I have been meaning to change some of the songs on my playlist. I must do this! Great songs! 🙂 Anything by David Guetta is so awesome right now!

  3. Pingback: what i ate wednesday #17 | Living the Gluten Free Life

  4. Pingback: nashville 2012: week 2 | Living the Gluten Free Life

  5. Pingback: nashville 2012: week 4 | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

