cocoa coconut butter

I hadn’t made, or even eaten, coconut butter in a really long time. I made a batch to give to a friend for her birthday in November… and I think that’s the last time I made some! I think I somehow forgot how amazing it is topped on pretty much everything? I fell back in love last week when I was scraping out the last bit we had saved over some acorn squash… such an incredibly tasty combo I’m not sure why I haven’t tried it before!

Anyways, back to the new recipe, because this one would probably not be too spectacular on squash… Cocoa coconut butter! I wrote about how easy + cheap making your own nutbutters at home a few months back (all the way back IN JULY?! yikes!) and the pictures are some of my favorite from my blog. I still haven’t ever bought coconut butter to compare it in creaminess, but for a fraction of the price I’ll take the taste over the texture, thank you very much.

Cocoa Coconut Butter

  • ~6-7 oz shredded coconut (unsweetened, I can find a 12oz bag for under $2!)
  • 1-2T cocoa powder

1. In a food processor, place the coconut and 1T of the cocoa powder. You can always add the additional cocoa powder later (if needed)

2. Process until creamy.  It will take between 6 and 10 minutes, just scrape down the sides of the processor if needed until smooth + creamy

Once done, place in a little mason jar and keep at room temp – in the winter your coconut butter will get pretty hard, but you can stick it in the microwave if needed to pour over something. Otherwise, just scraping off the top later is fine by me :).

This is a perfect topping for pancakes, a topping for a dessert pizza, or even as an additional ingredient in a smoothie. Definitely get creative with this one :).  We made a batch of this + a batch of the regular with one bag of coconut. Perfect topping perfection.

3 thoughts on “cocoa coconut butter

Leave a Reply

