valentine’s m+m’s

At least this February-inspired recipe had more success than my baking fail!

As a “holiday” I really have no patience for Valentine’s Day. I really could care less when February 14th rolls around. The only redeeming quality V-Day has for me are the pretty colors of Valentine’s m+m colors. Red, pink and white are a great combination… it’s just unfortunate they have to come out around this “holiday” ;).

I decided to pick up a pack of these spontaneously at Target when I was getting a heating pad and ICEE hot for sister’s back. I told myself awhile ago that I wasn’t allowed to buy m+m’s… mostly because they disappear way too quickly! At one internship I had last year, the front desk had two m+m characters with unlimited amounts of m+m’s… it was way too easy to grab a few when walking by ;).

Because of how fast they usually disappear, I figured it would be good to space them out a bit with some cookie dough. Yes, cookies disappear quite fast as well, but they can be given away much more easily to family + friends than a handful of m+m’s, haha. At first, I thought of making the World’s Best Chocolate Chip cookies with m+m’s instead of chocolate chips… but then I had another idea. How about Peanut Blossoms adapted with m+m’s? Oh, and adding in an extra ingredient that makes them a little nutritious to top it all off? Well, nutritious may be a bit of an over-statement…  but at least better than they were originally!

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls with Valentine’s M+M’s

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter (I used Skippy)
  • scant 1/4c brown sugar
  • scant 1/4c organic white sugar
  • 1/4c ground flax
  • 2t vanilla
  • 4T unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 3 to 3 1/2c gluten free bisquick
  • 2t xanthan gum
  • 2t baking soda
  • 1t salt
  • valentine’s m+m’s
  • sugar, for rolling (optional)

1. Cream together the butter, peanut butter and sugars until all creamy.

2. Add in the flax, vanilla and milk. Mix to combine.

3. Put in the xanthan gum, baking soda and salt, and then gradually add in the bisquick until the dough is no longer sticky and will roll into balls. Doing your dry ingredients this way helps keep this to a one-bowl recipe!

4. Add in the Valentine’s m+m’s (as many as you desire) and stir to combine. Place in fridge.

5. Once chilled (to hold shape better and help the m+m’s not melt as much), scoop the dough into balls (I used a small cookie scoop and then rolled into round balls). Roll into additional sugar to coat the outside of the dough.

6. Place on to a lined baking sheet, and bake in a 375? preheated oven for 10 minutes.

7. Remove from the oven and move to a cooling rack.

Oh boy were these tasty. I was at first expecting them to turn out more like a regular cookie, but these reached semi-doughball cookie status. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome :). The added flax is barely noticeable, only a few speckles here and there but you almost get the sense that it’s specks of chocolate. And one awesome bonus of using the flax? It makes this an egg-free recipe so you can eat as much dough as you want, ha!

6 thoughts on “valentine’s m+m’s

  1. Hey, I am a new reader coming to you by recommendation of Laura @ Against the Grain! SO glad I did! Your pictures and recipes are amazing….like these cookies,I would have trouble keeping my hands off of them!

    • Thanks for stopping over and for the compliment! And yes, I do enjoy cookies way too much and am glad that I can actually remember all the ones I bake now since I have a reason to take pictures of them! Stop back anytime – more cookie recipes will be coming ;).

Leave a Reply

