what i ate wednesday #15

Oh my, yet another Wednesday! It is also the first day of February in 2012 – this year is going way too fast already. I’m not sure what weather is doing in other parts of the States, but Wisconsin is having some major spring temperatures, as in mid-40’s. Definitely no need for a coat today! But with these temperatures at the beginning of February, I am worried about what the actual Spring may bring… I guess we’ll just have to wait to see! Anyways, onto the eats :).


Breakfast: Homemade French Toast on Udi’s Ancient Grain Millet-Chia Bread with a little powdered sugar and a grapefruit. Yup, still loving the grapefruit! Also had coffee with chocolate milk on the side – when it’s super easy to make a homemade mocha, I just can’t resist! Especially when the sugar + cals are way down from what a coffeeshop mocha would be.

After breakfast Sister and I went on a 6 mile walk I think? Usually the winter is way too cold for just walking, but besides being really windy it wasn’t too bad!

Lunch: A delicious combination of ground chicken, broccoli and a homemade sloppy joe sauce. A little ketchup, mustard, brown sugar and spices make this dish delicious. Swap out some BBQ sauce if you don’t have the other ingredients on hand. On the side are some new-to-me Risotto Chips (sea salt flavored – so good!).

Snack: I felt like more coffee this afternoon, so we broke out the Sister’s Espresso machine Christmas present and made homemade lattes. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk + cinnamon, frothed with the Aerolatte and then the espresso on the top. But I guess when the espresso is on the top, it’s a macchiato? I guess there’s a reason I was never a barista… ;).

Two (or more) cookies on the side. Recipe coming tomorrow!

Dinner: Steak on the grill (did I mention is feels like Spring?!), sweet potato fries and roasted broccoli in the oven. Roasting veggies is definitely the best way to cook them!

After dinner I had a small dish of Talenti gelato and a couple more cookies – the cookies are just way too delicious! And there’s a sneaky healthy ingredient in them… but I bet you’d never guess it ;).

Happy Wednesday!! Be sure to stop by tomorrow for the cookie recipe – definitely do not want to miss this one!

17 thoughts on “what i ate wednesday #15

  1. I’m still loving grapefruit too. I feel like I’m eating it everyday! Ruby reds def my fav. And that is too funny that 40 is spring weather! We are headed to Orlando today, the high is 80!

    • Yes, ruby reds are the best! I think the temp is usually in the single digits here in Jan/Feb, if not the negatives – so I’ll happily settle for the 40’s! Although a trip to Florida sounds quite wonderful… ;).

  2. I love grapefruit! You’re making me crave its sweet/tangy/juiciness right this minute!! Those cookies are so cute- I can’t imagine what’s in them. It’s hopefully a big surprise!! 6 mile walks are the best, especially in good company.

    • I love making my own lattes at home – I think there is one place around here that makes almond milk lattes, but they charge like $7 for one – no thank you!

    • Yay for Wisconsin bloggers! The first few months are pretty challenging if you go cold turkey, but it you’re just making little changes here and there it is definitely doable! I think only a couple of my recipes are not gluten free (brought over from my last blog) so there are a lot for you to choose from – plus a whole lot more coming in the next couple of days!

    • The Udi’s millet-chia bread is the best – even if I didn’t need gluten free bread I think I would still get this stuff. Love all the grains in it :). And stemless wine glasses are perfect for ice cream!

  3. I haven’t tried Udi’s chia millet bread – is it good? I love their cinnamon raisin 🙂

    Looks like a yummy day of eats!

    • Oh my goodness, it’s the best! It’s my favorite bread by far – even if I wasn’t gluten free I’m pretty sure I would seek this out. Their cinnamon raisin is really good too, but this one is heartier and has like 6g protein + 6g fiber per slice – pretty good stats!

Leave a Reply

