snow run

Today was the first actual snowy run of the season. There was a light dusting on the ground during my first 9 mile training run, but it was hardly enough to see on the grass. This was a little more snow coverage and insane wind accompanying it, so it was not the most enjoyable run. I was scheduled to go four miles, the last definite run before 13.1 on Saturday. I have an optional 3 miles on Wednesday, but I’m thinking I will do an Insanity DVD instead. Looking back over my long runs over the past couple of months, it appears I do a lot better during the run when I have one or two Insanity’s during the week – something about the breathing and sweating so hard no run I have ever done even comes close to comparing…

That being said, I haven’t been so dedicated to Insanity over the holidays and my runs have definitely decreased in performance. We will see if it will help coupled with the excitement being in Disney will bring! I was going to do a DVD today, but I am still nursing my shoulder a little bit – loading up on Ibuprofen to decrease the swelling. It seems to be doing better, but I didn’t want to use my arms/back any more than necessary. I’m thinking a stretching/recovery insanity tomorrow and a regular one on Wednesday.

Anyways, the run this morning was so windy and cold, but I was happy to do it in the daylight! I was off of work today and slept in until 7, and then went for a run right away. Once I got back, vegging out ensued. Well, Christmas decorations were taken down and the house was cleaned first, but then I spent some quality time laying on my bed (flat on my back for my shoulder) reading a book that one of my co-workers wrote (she had me for Secret Santa and she gave me one of her books!). Even though outside was windy, cold and snowy, inside was nice and toasty and it felt like a snow day. After lunch I even baked up a half batch of the best gluten free chocolate chip cookies I have ever had – reminds me so much of Carol’s Cookies!

I really can’t believe I have only two days of work and then I’m off to Orlando! I am really excited for this trip even though it seems to have come up so fast!

2 thoughts on “snow run

Leave a Reply

