disney 1/2 training: 10 miles

So it appears I took a little break from blogging this week. While many people were off and on an extended holiday, I was back at work on Tuesday and ended up having a very busy week. I was also coming down off a massive sugar high… getting a filling… and doing random time-sucking activities such as Pinterest and being around to let the furnace guy in to check out why our furnace was all of a sudden not quite working so great. I kept feeling a day behind at work, thinking it was the day prior each day so I was fairly unprepared for Friday to get here! I luckily (for relaxing purposes) have a three day weekend again, but then only two days of work and we’re off to FLORIDA for the Disney marathon! I really can’t believe it’s less than a week away…

This morning on my training plan was a 10 mile run. My first double digits! Sister decided to go 11 miles to finish out 2011, but I’ve decided I was definitely not ready for that. Plus, Sister also got a Garmin for Christmas and we ran together on Monday – my Nike+ on my iPod was around 10% off, meaning I was running 10% too little. I re-calibrated it so hopefully it’s a little closer to the actual distance and I really did go 10 miles today! Definitely feels like I did…

My weekly running this week was rough. I think a combination of my crappy sugar-filled diet over the weekend did not help matters, and I’ve been having this weird pulled muscle pain/knot under my right shoulder blade that will not go away. Needless to say, I did not have high expectations for this run. Running 10% more than I was used to on a 10 mile run that I’ve never run after two of the worst runs I have had all training long. Sounds like I’m ready for next week, huh?

Anyways, after not expecting much I didn’t end up doing too terrible. My shoulder was sore/tight through most of the run but it did seem marginally better post-run, so that’s a good sign that it’s not aggravated by it (I think it’s actually from a day-long coughing fit I had last week and has nothing to do with running). I decided to run out 3 1/2 miles and then come back and run another 3 mile loop. I would avoid some rolling hills this way and be fairly close to home at a few points if I needed to stop back for anything. I left at 9:15am and the weather was really sunny and in the 40’s – at least closer to Florida weather than it could have been! Overall my run went much better than Thursday’s 5 mile and finished with a 10:47 average – definitely not a speed demon, but as long as I can cross the start and finish line next week I’ll be happy!

I know I’ve already said it, but I can’t believe my first 1/2 marathon is a week away! Pretty sure I’m going to be a ball of nerves Friday night/Saturday morning, but being able to put on my finisher’s shirt and wear my Donald Duck medal will be worth it! One other thing… tomorrow is 2012?! Where did 2011 go? Yikes.

Happy New Years!

9 thoughts on “disney 1/2 training: 10 miles

  1. You need to RELAX sister! You are going to do just fine and are going to cross the finish line if I have to carry you part of the way! And remember we also decided salads are probably not good running fuel and we have surviving on those most of the week along with cookies the weekend before.

  2. Kelsey – You will have so much fun at Disney…just take it one mile at a time and you will cross the finish line for sure. And…relish and enjoy the experience. I have desire to run another marathon, but running Chicago in 2009 was FUN…it was like running through 30+ neighborhood block parties…enjoy high-fiving Goofy and Tinkerbell…when is the next time you’ll get to do that in your life?

    PS – My Nike+ was off too…discovered it at mile #25 at Chicago…Nike+ said I had ran 26.2 and I still had 1.2 to go! At least you discovered this before you get to Orlando!

    • Thanks, Tabitha! I definitely need to remind myself to enjoy it and I am sure having my sister there to help me along will help lighten me up as well. I’ll only run my first half marathon once, and I am lucky it gets to be at Disney!

      Hope your family had a wonderful and relaxing time in Florida!

Leave a Reply

