12 days of cookies: sugar cutouts

I can’t believe it. I was successful in making sugar cookie cutouts in one try. One batch. That’s all it took. I figured the first batch would turn out, but who knew if it would roll and bake properly or if I would end up with flattened, mis-shapened snowmen, or something equally as depressing such as cookies that turn to dust when you touch them… I was holding out a lot of hope, because I am a “cookie decorating snob“, and you obviously need a good base to work with when you’re decorating them .

At first I thought I might use the sugar cookie base from the peppermint sugar cookies, and that might have worked, but I knew the chocolate cutouts worked out so well that maybe I should use that recipe. So, I tweaked the chocolate cutouts to be non-chocolate, and there was definite happiness that day when they were successful! I made the dough the night before, and it looked promising, but dough can sometimes be deceiving. Luckily there was no deceit, just the best sugar cookie cutouts I have ever had, and there was hardly a noticeable difference between these and the ones I made last year with regular flour. Gluten free bisquick is the best… Is it too late to ask Santa for a lifetime’s supply?

Sugar Cutouts

  • ~4 1/4c gluten free Bisquick
  • 2t xanthan gum
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1t cream of tartar
  • 3 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2c organic sugar
  • 2 egg
  • 1T vanilla
  • 1/2t almond extract

1. Whisk the bisquick, xanthan gum, salt and cream of tartar in a small bowl.

2. Cream the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy.

3. Add in the eggs, vanilla and almond extract and mix until combined.

4. Add in the dry mixture a little at a time, mixing in between. If the dough still looks wet, you can add some additional flour.

5. Wrap in plastic wrap and put in the fridge overnight.

6. The next day, take out a chuck of dough and kneed it in your hands a little bit to soften slightly. Once you can roll it, roll with a rolling pin to between 1/8″ and 1/4″ thickness (I used my Joseph Joseph adjustable rolling pin on 1/4″ and then flattened a little more to get the correct thickness).

7. Cut out with your desired cookie cutters and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.

8. Place in the freezer for about 5 minutes to re-chill the rough after you have been working with it.

9. Bake in a preheated 350′ oven for 8-10 minutes. Do NOT overbake. They should NOT be brown whatsoever.

10. take out of the oven and allow to set up on the cookie sheet if they are too fragile. Then, move to a cooling rack and repeat the process with the remaining dough.

11. Once cooled, frost with a powdered sugar + butter + milk frosting and decorate as desired.

My favorite shapes include Grandma’s Christmas goose, this particular Christmas tree, snowmen, bells and stars. But feel free to use whatever cookie cutters you enjoy the most.

These make me so happy. Only three more days ’til Christmas!

5 thoughts on “12 days of cookies: sugar cutouts

Leave a Reply

