12 days of cookies: peppermint sugar

One recipe I have yet to conquer is rolled out sugar cookies. I keep procrastinating, worried that they’re not going to turn out and I’ll have a disaster on my hands. This weekend is when I will hopefully be able to say I successfully made sugar cookie rollouts, but for the time being, these are a great substitute! I might even use the dough as a starter for the rollouts, I guess we will just have to wait and see! Sister gets the credit for finding this idea on the Pillsbury website, but I must say we outdid their attempt. I used to love the tube of cookie dough you could buy at the grocery store, ready to bake… but there is nothing quite like homemade cookies – especially when they’re just as easy!

To find the sugar cookie base to use, I just googled “soft sugar cookie recipe”, and found one on Annie’s Eats blog. All I had to do was switch out the flour and I was good to go! Man, don’t the 12 days of cookies keep looking better and better? I’ve got to really up my game on the next ones to make sure they don’t disappoint!

Peppermint Sugar Cookies

  • 4 – 5 cups gluten free bisquick (depending on the stickyness of the dough and the consistency desired)
  • 4 1/2t baking powder
  • 3/4t salt
  • 3 sticks butter
  • 1 1/2cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 5t vanilla
  • 3-4 candy canes, crushed

1. Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.

2. Add in the eggs and vanilla and beat the dough until it is well mixed together.

3. Add in the baking powder and salt, and then the gluten free bisquick a little at a time, mixing to incorporate. Make sure the dough is not too sticky, but not too dry either.

4. Add in the crushed up candy canes and mix well. Let sit outside (if it’s cold out), or in the fridge for about an hour, or overnight if desired.

5. Scoop and roll into even balls, and bake in a preheated 350′ oven for 10-12 minutes, making sure the cookies are set but not overbaked.

6. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly on the tray, and then move them to a cooling rack.

7. To decorate, melt some white chocolate chips + grapeseed oil in a double boiler. Dip half of the cookie in the melted chocolate, and then top with additional crushed candy canes. You can also decorate with sprinkles, mini chocolate chips, colored sugar, etc.

These look so festive and are a great addition to my Christmas cookie list!

I brought a tray of various cookies to a potluck at work yesterday, and these were the first to go! A nice alteration to regular sugar, but don’t worry, a cutout recipe will be coming soon!

3 thoughts on “12 days of cookies: peppermint sugar

  1. Pingback: 12 days of cookies: sugar cutouts | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

