12 days of cookies: snowballs

Sometimes when baking gluten free, mistakes happen. Sometimes these mistakes ruin the entire recipe, and sometimes you just find another way to make the recipe. Well, this one is thankfully the latter.  I don’t have much experience baking these even gluten-filled, so it was quite the experiment. The first time I tasted this recipe was two years ago when sister participated in a cookie exchange at her work. Oh my goodness, I never knew I could love a recipe so much that I had never had before. It took an entire year to get the recipe that was used, but luckily it came in time for last Christmas so I could experiment with my own!

The original recipe (from Betty Crocker, by the way), used chopped nuts as the mix in. I did make that version last year, but I also made a version using mini chocolate chips. I love both, but the chocolate won out this time! And what about this recipe didn’t exactly turn out as expected? The snowball shaped cookies turned to… melted snowballs? I think the extra leavening in the Bisquick combined with not chilling the dough before baking was why this happened!

Snowballs

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2c powdered sugar
  • 1t vanilla
  • 1c gluten free bisquick
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1/2c mini chocolate chips
  • powdered sugar to coat

1. Cream the butter and the sugar together with the vanilla until pale and fluffy.

2. Add in the bisquick and salt and mix to combine. I do everything in just one bowl so it is an extremely easy recipe!

3. Roll into balls and place into the fridge/freezer to set up. (I didn’t do this on accident and they still turned out, just not quite as successfully!)

4. Once the snowballs have set up, place them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and bake in a preheated 400′ oven. *You can also roll the dough in powdered sugar for their first coating if you desire, I’ll be trying out this trick next time.

5. Bake for 8-9 minutes until the cookies are set – do not overbake!

6. Once out of the oven, you are supposed to be able to roll them in powdered sugar. Well, these cookies were crumbly at first so they got a sprinkling on the pan instead (rolling was NOT an option – plus they weren’t quite ball-shaped). This step could also be skipped if you pre-rolled in the powdered sugar, but I’m not quite sure how that would work yet. I’ve got to give credit to Sister for this step, because she took charge after they were not rolling initially (and I was on to the next dough-making!).

7. Once the cookies with the first coating have cooled, roll again in powdered sugar and place on a cooling rack. The first coating will make somewhat of a frosting-type coating that the second coat will stick to.

Even though these did not turn out quite as expected, they are still delicious and Sister said she actually prefers them flatter. I on the other hand love dough, so I would like to try these again to see if I can get them rounder and more dough-like, but with 8 more kinds of cookies to go in the 12 days of cookies, there’s not the time or necessity to try them again! Maybe next year ;).

And by next year I mean January because these are almost gone.

4 thoughts on “12 days of cookies: snowballs

  1. These are sure a tasty little almost disaster! I am glad I could help keep you from just throwing in the towel on them because I really do think they turned out very, very well! And they taste good enough to give to anyone! Just have to call them melted snowballs 😉

    • Yes, you helped greatly! And I didn’t really throw in the towel, I just didn’t know how to proceed haha. Hopefully all of the people we’re giving them to today enjoy them as well!

Leave a Reply

