gingerbread pancakes

It’s been a bit since my last post, and even longer since my last recipe! Even though we cooked quite a lot at our condo in Hawaii, no recipes were quite blog-worthy.  Well, this recipe was technically written and talked about frequently since it was one of our regular breakfasts, but of course it needed to be updated for the holidays! Gluten Free Bisquick is definitely a new favorite and cannot live without ingredient in our household. It is pricier than we would like it to be at $3.99 for a pound, but it is worth it when I feel like I can finally bake normally again!

I used to always go to iHop during the holidays and get their Gingerbread Pancakes – what’s not to love when there’s gingerbread, whipped cream and sprinkles? This is a variation on the Nature Pancakes that I will one day photograph nicely rather than embedded in a vacation post :).

Gingerbread Pancakes

  • 1 cup gluten free bisquick
  • 2T buckwheat groats*
  • 2T millet*, toasted
  • 1T chia seeds*
  • 1/2c-3/4c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1T molasses
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1/2t ginger
  • 1/4t cloves
  • 1/4t allspice
*If you’re making these for a more traditional crowd, feel free to omit the groats, millet and chia 😉
1. Combine all ingredients and mix well – no worry of over mixing when it’s gluten free!
2. Bake on a preheated griddle just like normal pancakes.
3. Top with coconut cream and christmas sprinkles (optional)

Coconut Cream

  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 3T organic powdered sugar
1. Mix all ingredients until fluffy/creamy.  I haven’t been successful actually making it into whipped cream, but it’s delicious this way so I’m content.

The coconut cream got soo drippy on the hot pancakes.  But it was an absolutely delicious topping for pancakes! Easily my new favorite pancake recipe and toppings. Happy December, everybody!

3 thoughts on “gingerbread pancakes

  1. These pancakes look really delicious. I recently found out that I might be allergic to some foods, and I’m really concerned. I’ve never been allergic to anything before. It’ll take some adjusting to. However, I think so many people are eating gluten-free these days, that there are so many more options for food and recipes. I love eating pancakes with fruit jellies on top. It tastes so good but I want to try this coconut cream thing you have. I’ve never had that on pancakes before. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

