disney 1/2 training: 7 miles

My 7 mile run took me to the next level. I can’t even remember the last time I ran anything over a 10k so my comfort zone is definitely starting to stretch. There’s only 5 weeks(!) until the Disney World 1/2 Marathon in Orlando and I am so excited. Even though I know the next 5 weeks are definitely going to test my body + mind, I feel content and happy and so fortunate that since I got over the tendonitis in my food at the beginning of training I haven’t come up against any other injuries *knock on wood. Poor sister was having some IT band issues this week, but hopefully they have turned around since she completed her 7 mile run just fine this morning!

I woke up at 6 6:30 this morning to set out for my run at 7:30.  Getting the tree was on the schedule for this morning as well, so I had to make sure I was back and ready by the time we left for that.  Kinley chickened out of running outside and decided to head for the gym.  Since I decided to go against the monthly gym membership fee to save money, I had no choice so I sucked it up and prepared to head out. When I got up I had coffee and a rice cake with PB2 + preserves, per usual. I have found that eating more than an hour before running is too much time, I need something closer to the start but not too close that my stomach gets all wonky. I also had plenty of water to make sure I was hydrated.

Today was not only the first 7 mile run I have done in a very long time, but it is the first day that I tried fueling on a practice run.  Sure I’ve had applesauce and a couple of clif bloks during races, but not during weekend runs because the fuel I got from my pre-run food was sufficient. I (only) have 3 more long runs (8, 9, +10 miles) before the half marathon so I need to make sure I am using what will actually work for me and make sure I can take it while running (and keep it down…). I decided to use the Razz Clif Shot that I got in my Clif Bar Pace Team packet. The energy shots are Sister’s favorite item to use to fuel, and this way I will only have to use one at around miles 4, 8 and 12? I guess we will see, but these seem more convenient than the Bloks and Sisters says they last longer. The Razz flavor was okay – but I am really looking forward to the chocolate one I already have for my 8 mile run!

I set out at 7:30, just like I was planning. I was going to wear a rain jacket but decided to go without and just get drenched.  I don’t think a coat would have really helped much anyways… I had a Christmas mix on my iPod and just felt happy… I don’t really know why I was feeling this way but I couldn’t get over the fact I was running my furthest distance to date and feeling good while doing it! At mile 3.5 I took a walking break to figure out how to get my Clif Shot open with cold + wet fingers… teeth, that’s how. So I took that with some water and continued on my way. I got SOAKED. Literally from head to toe nothing was dry but that was okay – it wasn’t that cold so I at least wasn’t covered in ice ;).

Please forgive my lazy eye… never noticed that before – maybe it was flipping out from the cold/wet??

I ended up running all of it except for the first 200 meters, a minute or so at the halfway point and then 200 meters at the end. I really wasn’t expecting a decent time and was just aiming for under 11minutes miles and didn’t think I was going fast especially being weighted down with wet clothes, but I was pleasantly shocked when I finished and had run it averaging 10:19 minutes miles (fast for me, especially when it was 7 miles!)! I finished it in 1:12:13, and fairly even splits? Well, even enough for me!

That umbrella looks so innocent, nothing that would actually help in a torrential downpour.

4 thoughts on “disney 1/2 training: 7 miles

    • ‘sanks sisser. Your headache is from the treadmill? You obviously need to get out more… hahaha. But just wait until I’m like sick tomorrow because I was wet for an hour and a half…

  1. Pingback: disney 1/2 training: 8 miles | Living the Gluten Free Life

  2. Pingback: 12 days of cookies: gingerbread trees | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

