maui day 10: haleakala crater + honu

I can’t believe this was the last day in Hawaii… as you can tell I definitely was putting this off as long as I could, but I had to write it now so I wouldn’t forget!  In the morning I did my 6 mile long run up the beachside road in Maui, and then we ate and went down to the beach by the condo – I wish I lived this close to the ocean so I could walk to it every day!  We spent the morning snorkeling and soaking up the last of the Hawaiian sun before our departure.  We went back at lunchtime, cleaned the sand off of us and then set off on our roadtrip to Haleakala crater.  Good thing we had Pip to get us there!

We had debated going to Haleakala for sunrise, but decided against waking up at 3am to catch the view – maybe when I am there for longer than two mornings?!  It’s an hour drive up – and 10,000 feet in elevation.  We drove through the clouds.

And behind a busload of Japanese tourists.  Thank you, driver, for pulling to the side so Pip could soar past you.

My ears were popping and my Camelbak was having a hissyfit.  Be careful bringing a Camelbak on a flight or to higher elevations – the water likes to spurt back up the straw and all over everything…

We finally reached 10,000 feet.

And walked up 23 more.

But we certainly could not miss this view.  (P.S. it was COLD!)

This is Hawaiian National Park on the island of Hawaii – see the smoke from the lava flow of the active volcano?  Visiting this park and walking to see the lava at dusk is one of my favorite memories from my last trip to Hawaii.

This looks surreal.  I can’t believe I was actually there.

The top of Haleakala has its own vegetation – including silver plants.  I wanted to bring one home.

We headed back down Haleakala and went toward Lahaina for dinner to celebrate Sister’s birthday!  We finally decided to try out Honu after seeing it listed in a dining guide that highlighted its gluten free options.

The view, both inside and outside, was gorgeous.

The food was too – we got deep fried chickpeas as a complimentary appetizer and I just had to get another Pina Colada before we left!  I think this might have been the best one I have ever had.  Ever.

There were many gluten free options, but my eyes were only for the pizza.

I ended up with the special – Lobster Curry something or other.  It was divine.  The crust was chewy just like hand tossed pizzas are supposed to taste, only sans gluten.  This might have been the best pizza I have ever had and I really need to schedule a trip back ASAP.  Well, and to Kauai as well to go back to Lemongrass Grill and the other restaurant I still need to post about – so much good food!

After dinner Kinley got a special birthday dessert, and we all shared bites!  Happy Birthday Sister!!!

The entire meal was incredible, but also sad because it was our last eaten in Hawaii.  We went back to the condo to pack up and head to the Airport…

 

2 thoughts on “maui day 10: haleakala crater + honu

Leave a Reply

