kauai day 4: kauai coffee + waimea canyon

I started out this morning at 5am, unassisted by any alarm clocks.  It is nice to get up so early on your own and have a ton of extra time built in.  I had some Kona coffee (just can’t get enough!), and then went out for a 2 mile walk to try and scope out somewhere I could do a 4 mile run on Monday.  Our resort is right off a highway and has a short private drive, so I guess if worse comes to worst I can pretend I’m on a track and just do loops around the condo.  After I got back I had breakfast – some Chobani strawberry yogurt mixed with chia, granola and topped with a little Sweet Marie’s Morning Glory muffin with a half of a grilled Tropical muffin on the side with strawberry-guava jam.

We left the house and headed toward Waimea Canyon – the Grand Canyon of the Pacific.  On the way we stopped at Kauai Coffee Company for their short self-guided tour and coffee samples!  It was a gorgeous and sunny day with blue skies everywhere.

I had about three sample cups and my favorite was the Caramel Crunch Macadamia – and we bought a bag to brew in our condo ;).  I also really liked a banana flavored one that would have made awesome iced coffee.

The tour was 1/8 of a mile long, so just a short walk through some coffee plants.  It was really neat to see all of the coffee fruits/beans still on the plant!

After we got our coffee buzz on, it was time to go across the Hanapepe Swinging Bridge.  Dad made it quite scary by stepping unnecessarily large – I grabbed on to the railing at one point and still have a nice sliver of the bridge with me in my finger :/.

We kept driving down the highway toward Waimea Canyon and stopped for lunch at The Grove at the Waimea Plantation Cottages.  We shared pork nachos for an appetizer, and then I had the catch of the day which was Ono, grilled and topped with papaya aioli on a bed of cabbage with a side of steamed rice.  It was so good!  I even got a salad before it with delicious Papaya dressing.  And the entire catch of the day was only $15.95!

After our big lunch, we stopped across the street at Kauai Granola Sugar Cane Snax to see what they had.  I ended up walking out with Pina Colada granola, chocolate dipped  dried pineapple and a chocolate covered macaroon.  Even after all the lunch food I couldn’t stay away from the macaroon – it was SO good and I definitely need to find more of these before we leave and recreate it at home!  I couldn’t decide whether I liked the gooey inner section or the nice and crunch outer section the best…

The drive up the canyon was a bit scary.  We had to ascend 4500+ feet in elevation to reach the top.  The views were all breathtaking and I loved the red dirt color mixed with the greens from the trees.

At the top lookout there was a hiking pathway that went out for more views.  We put on our hiking*cough*running shoes on and started down the path.  We were the same height as the clouds!

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this picture.

And this is the point in the vacation where (gasp!) Kelsey does something stupid and her camera is out of commission.  After we were done hiking, we began the descent down that took like half the time… and got my stomach and head rolling!  I was happy to reach the bottom and it took awhile for my head to feel like it was sitting on straight again.  We headed to Salt Pond Beach to sit for awhile and for the parents to have some cocktails and I had grabbed my book, my beach towel and my camera to bring with me down near the ocean.  Well, somehow my camera got stuck in my hands and unbeknownst to be began continually turning itself on with its lens hitting my book/hand over and over again.  Needless to say, it had a lens error.  I have had enough cameras in my day to know this is common with point and shoots and normally you just have to turn them off and when they come to life again the lens resets itself and you’re back in operation.  Well, that was definitely not the case here!

The lens refused to go in and stayed out.  I tried taking the battery out, taking the memory card out, letting them both stay out for a long stretch of time and nothing worked.  My beach time was definitely not a happy time for me because I had somehow managed to break my camera that was only four days old.  Seriously, who does that?  Well, we watched the sunset and then headed back toward our condo to make dinner there.  On the way home we stopped at Walmart to get a few things, including some chocolate macadamia nut ice cream with dry roasted + salted macadamias for on top.

Dinner (somehow I managed to wait until after dinner for ice cream!) was a brown rice tortilla with hummus, a hard boiled egg, turkey and papaya seed dressing with carrots and a few rice chex on the side.  It was nice to have a simple dinner at the condo rather than a heavy meal!  Ice cream, of course, for dessert.  I had wild plans of making kahlua mudslides, but Walmart only had a big bottle of Kahlua for $20.  No thank you, I will just have to get one out this week!

And I have absolutely no clue how he did it, but my dad got my camera to at least function!  The lens was really stuck out, so he somehow twisted it back enough to get it to latch on to go in and out.  It definitely took a little bit, but it appears to be working and hopefully will last until the end of vacation!  It seems like there is some other issue with the camera however because the inner piece of the lens is dented.  Luckily, it’s still under warranty so it will be sent in to Canon when we return to get a fully functioning camera again.  But I cannot even express my joy in having my camera back, even if it is only temporarily!  I am absolutely loving how the pictures are turning out and can’t imagine not having it along for the rest of Hawaii, but I guess we will see how long it can last and how nicely I can treat it from now until then!

4 thoughts on “kauai day 4: kauai coffee + waimea canyon

  1. your pictures are turning out great! are you doing any extra post processing on them or just straight from the camera? also, i am jealous of your cute summery tank tops and shorts! ugh!

    • Thank you! I am not doing any editing to these – I have the vivid setting on so it does what I used to do automatically. I’ve also used the beach setting when we’ve gone to the beach to help with the sunlight. And I bet you’re not jealous of the sunburn I have right now! Although hopefully when I get home it will have turned into a tan 😉

    • We just need to go to the store to find where they sell them – I’m sure there are other locations around? And we need to make some Macarons and Macaroons when we get home 😀

Leave a Reply

