kauai day 2: spouting horn + po’ipu beach

I woke up by myself at 6:15 this morning after 8+ hours of sleep.  It felt so good!  We bought the most delicious coffee last night so I had some of that to get me going.  We had Kona Hawaiian Holiday Cheer this morning that was A Blend of Fresh Coconut with Tropical Fruit and Dark Rum.  Delicious.  And only $5 on sale at Foodland!  Will be back to get more to bring home!  After coffee I went on a 2 mile walk around the property – and found the beach :).  It was so close, within 1/4 mile of our door I would say.  I can definitely get used to this.

I walked up and down the beach and took a ton of pictures because everything was so gorgeous!  And I saw a rainbow – I have a feeling this is not going to be the last one we see since we’re on the Garden Island and rain seems to be a daily occurrence.  I don’t mind the rain however because it makes the intermittent blue skies feel even more special and might help to make a natural sun barrier for part of the day that’ll be good for my fair and easy to burn skin.

When I got back I had a breakfast of Chobani strawberry yogurt with a half of a banana and some Sweet Marie’s gluten free granola along with a half a Sweet Marie’s Mango Macadamia Muffin on the side.  I attempted to connect to the internet with no avail… hopefully it starts working soon so it’s not so pesky for me to get online.

After we ate, we leisurely got ready since we didn’t have any time constraints.  We headed down to the pool around 11, cocktails in hand!  POG + rum is absolutely delicious.  I first heard of POG the last time we went to hawaii, it’s Pineapple Orange Guava juice and is basically the best juice on the planet… and it really needs to come home to the mainland!  We just sat around the pool for a half hour or so and then headed into town to grab some lunch.

We ended up at Mariachi’s Authentic Mexican restaurant.  I ended up with a Chile Verde Taco Salad minus the flour tortilla.  It had a bed of lettuce, the Chile Verde, guacamole, tomato, beans, sour cream and a little cheese.  It was delicious.  I also had a few tortilla chips on the site.  The family got margaritas, but I had forgotten my ID at the condo and they weren’t believing I was over 21… seriously it’s been years since I have been that young!  I wasn’t torn up however since tequila is not my favorite.  After we ate we headed to Spouting Horn on the southern side of the island.

Spouting Horn is a lava tube that is right on the ocean, every once in awhile water floods in and it spurts it back up and makes an angry noise.  It was pretty cool but it was not cooperating for pictures very well – it was definitely camera shy haha.

After that we drove right up the road to Po’ipu Beach for some sun + relaxing time.  It was a gorgeous beach and we even got some snorkeling time in.  I don’t think I had ever snorkeled in the ocean before, but it was awesome going over the coral and seeing the neon colored schools of fish.  Not sure if there’s more snorkeling to come in the next week, but I am glad that I was able to at least do it once!

After we had gotten enough sun for the time being, we left the beach and drove back north, past out condo and to Papaya Natural Foods store.  It was hiding in the back of a strip mall, but we found it and got a few goodies including Macadamia Cashew Nut Butter.  I was hoping we’d find a deal around for Mac Nut Butter, but no luck again.  Sister and I decided to splurge since we are on vacation and got the Artisana brand.  We got a few other things and then headed back to the condo for dinner.

We made steaks on the grill by our condo, along with a side of kale chips and yams/sweet potato things.  We weren’t entirely sure what these things were – they tasted like a mix between a regular potato and a sweet potato almost, and I loved them!  Along with a side of ketchup, of course.  We also shared a chocolate cookie from Sweet Marie’s that tasted like a brownie.

 

Sister and I had a little hot tub time tonight after some frustrating computer time.  My computer refuses to connect to the internet.  The wifi has full strength and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it, but it will not go to the login page where i can put in my password.  What is going on?!  It’s so annoying and I hate not being able to chill out with the internet at night…  I hope it starts working soon but I don’t really know if that’ll be an option…

All in all it was a good first full day in paradise!

4 thoughts on “kauai day 2: spouting horn + po’ipu beach

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading for a while and never commented…I just wanted to say that I think it is AWESOME how incredibly close you and your sister are! My sister is two years older than me and is my absolute best friend in the entire world. We’ve already given up the idea of getting married and decided we’re just going to live in chicago together somewhere in a loft apartment one day with cats and dogs and each other 🙂

    Lots of people say they have a good relationship with their sister…but I can really really see it with you and yours 🙂

    Hope you have an amazing vacation!

Leave a Reply

