disney 1/2 training: 5 miles



I successfully made it through week 3 of my Disney 1/2 marathon training plan.  I had 3 1/2 mile runs on Monday and Thursday, and today I had a 5 mile run. Following last week’s not-too-successful 10k, decided to just go a comfortable pace and not push myself.  Since this is my first 1/2, I know that time should not be a goal at all, but my competitive nature is not wanting to accept that fact.  Plus, Sister now wants to run with me (poor choice on her part), but it will help me motivationally and will hopefully lighten me up during the race to enjoy it and be able to get some during the race photo ops with the various Disney characters that will be cheering us on!

The weather this morning was perfect for running.  It was a little chilly, but I was fine in pants and a long sleeved shirt.  I also found my new favorite running tool for winter – ear muffs!  I got a pair of 180’s last year and never really wore them, but now they have found their use!  I put them on with a regular headband, and around mile 3 I was able to easily remove them once my ears were warm.  They easily wound around my wrist and I didn’t have to try to re-put on my regular headband while running like I would have with any sort of hat or regular winter headband.  Although I must say that I am quite excited to be able to run in tank tops in less than ONE WEEK (Hawaii, I am definitely in need of a break from work, sun + warmth!).

Running definitely seemed easier this week from last, but that was to be expected.  My legs are definitely tired and beginning today I am cutting back on the amount of Insanity I’m doing.  During the first couple weeks of training I figured it would be fine to do additional Insanity exercise throughout the week, but that time has passed!  Insanity will now only be done during my cross training days on Sunday and Wednesday, and possibly the abs on Tuesday depending what Strength + Stretch I feel like doing.  Hopefully this helps my leg fatigue and makes me want to go further since it’s only up from here on out!

So, nothing spectacular with the run, but it’s one more down!  The next two will be in Hawaii so we will see how I do in a different climate than I’m used to, but regardless, I will be running in paradise!

In other news, I bought a new digital camera today and found a new appreciation for Amazon.  Sister and I went to Target, where I purchased a new Canon point and shoot for vacation.  I figured I would get a pretty good deal there and I have their debit card which means I get 5% off every purchase.  Well, I settled for my 2nd choice camera to save some money and an 8G memory card.  I (luckily) came home and went on Amazon, found my 1st choice camera and got an 8G memory card and saved $70!  Although $40 of the savings is from signing up for their credit card, but seriously, $30 less for the camera and memory card when I got a camera that was $20 more than the first one I got?  Can’t wait to get it so I can bring it with me on vacation – Amazon even offered me another month free of prime membership so I got FREE 2 day shipping.  Man, I love deals!

My new camera! A Canon PowerShot ELPH 100 HS

Happy Saturday!

2 thoughts on “disney 1/2 training: 5 miles

  1. i love amazon prime! i used up my year of free membership on my cuw email so now i have to try and use my miad one. i saw that it’s only for six months now though instead of a year. lame!

Leave a Reply

