pumpkin french toast

I cannot get over the fact that it is November already!  And I know November is going to go just as fast, if not faster than the previous few months because I have a vacation to look forward to!  I officially have only 13 total days of work this month and am not so sure how that’s going to go – might have some late nights in the office when I return, but only time will tell!  Anyways, back to breakfast.

Obviously, pumpkin is a very popular item in this house and I only have a handful of recipes so far on the blog.  That needed to change.  And this may be the best pumpkin recipe to date.  Although I think I say that every time a new pumpkin recipe is made… but when French Toast and pumpkin are combined?  It’s a very, very good day.

Pumpkin French Toast

1. Preheat a skillet to medium-high heat and spread with butter or spray with non-stick cooking spray.
2. Whisk together the egg, almond milk, pumpkin and spice in a rimmed plate/bowl.
3. Dip each piece of bread on both sides in the egg/milk/pumpkin mixture and place on the skillet.
4. Shake extra cinnamon on the first side up and flip once golden brown.
5. Top with powdered sugar, pumpkin butter, syrup, etc.

Other pumpkin recipes:

9 thoughts on “pumpkin french toast

  1. This is perfect! I always have about 1/3 cup leftover pumpkin when I make pumpkin pies. And I end up throwing it out since its never enough to do anything with…until now! Sounds delicious, I can’t wait to try it.

    • No need to throw out pumpkin, especially with this recipe! I wasn’t sure if the pumpkin flavor would come through in the batter or not, but it definitely did!

  2. I was just thinking about french toast the other day (because the local news affiliate did a story about the best restaurants for it, and I was upset that I couldn’t try them!) I’m going to try this recipe now, and maybe try to do what one of the top french toast restaurants does: After they dip the bread in the egg mixture, they dip it in Rice Krispies before they fry it, making it very crispy. I think I’ll combine that with your recipe.

    And I’ve never heard of this Udi’s bread. I’ll have to look for it now.

    • That sounds good! I’ve had french toast coated in cap’n crunch at a diner in NYC – so incredibly good with the extra crunch! Let me know how it works out if you try it!

      And the Udi’s bread is a gluten free brand, but you can definitely sub out any other bread in its place depending on what you like!

Leave a Reply

