beer + cornbread

I have never been a huge fan of beer.  There has never been a real reason for it except I thought it tasted bitter and they all tasted the same – including the pumpkin varieties.  Oh, my parents are shuddering from the thought… ;).  Don’t get me wrong, I used to drink it pre-GF days, but I would ALWAYS feel hungover the next morning, no matter if I had one bottle or multiple.  Looking back, I think it was something to do with the gluten.

Beer was my last thought when I gave up gluten, but for some reason (of course), I started craving beer when I was never even a fan.  Living in Milwaukee, there is never a dry day here, even for the gluten-less folks.  Lakefront Brewery had a gluten free beer named New Grist, and it is officially my favorite beer of all time.  I had my first one at a burger place and then proceeded to buy a six pack the next weekend, and was gifted even more for my birthday :).  Since it was the first time in quite awhile that there was an excess of beer in the household, making a recipe utilizing it was a no-brainer.

I knew exactly what the beer should be used for, and it was quite a sad day when I went to search for Edible Perspective’s beer-bread cornbread and her site was down for the weekend.  This recipe may not be as good as hers (and I will try it sometime soon to compare!), but it is delicious nonetheless.

Beer-Cornbread

  • 1 cup medium-ground cornmeal
  • 1/2c sorghum flour
  • 1/2c masa harina
  • 1/2t salt
  • 4t baking powder
  • 1/2c milk (unsweetened not-vanilla almond milk)
  • 1/2c beer (I used New Grist, naturally!)
  • 2 egg whites or 1 large egg
  • 2T honey
  • 1/2c frozen corn
1. In a small bowl, whisk all of the dry ingredients together.
2. In a larger bowl, whisk the eggs with the milk, beer and honey.
3. Add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix well.
4. Stir in the frozen corn.
5. Spray a 9×13″ pan with nonstick cooking spray and pour the cornbread in, spreading to smooth out.
6. Bake in a 350′ oven for 22-24 minutes.

*The next time this is made, I will probably use a 9″ square pan to try and make a thicker loaf, increase the cooking time if you do!

Beer and cornbread cannot be a bad thing.  This made for a delicious side dish and will be made many more times.  Might even make it into a cornbread stuffing for Thanksgiving?

11 thoughts on “beer + cornbread

  1. I am shuddering!! But will agree that the cornbread was very tasty – along with all the other Thanksgiving fare/goodness we had Sunday night!!

    • You could definitely use regular beer and flour to make this recipe too! I’m lucky to have a brewery nearby that has a gluten free option because I’m sure others out there aren’t quite as tasty as this one!

  2. Hi Kelsey,

    Have you tried Sprecher’s gluten free Shakparo? It’s a West African-style gluten free beer that has a fruity taste reminiscent of a Belgian Cider.

    Cheers,

    Anne

    • Hi Anne! No, I haven’t tried Sprecher’s gluten free beer – I didn’t know they had one! But I love cider, so I’ll have to try it out if I can find it. Thanks for letting me know to keep an eye out for it!

Leave a Reply

