my ‘first’ long run of 1/2 marathon training

Today was officially my first ‘long’ run of marathon training.  Technically not very long, as it was 4 miles, but it’s the starting point.  It is crazy to believe that in 11 weeks I will be done with my first 1/2 marathon… well, if all goes as planned that is ;).  I didn’t have high hopes for this run as I have been out of commission for about a month, so I was pleasantly surprised when I ran it in an amazing time (for me).  Here are my splits:

I typically run in the mid-10’s, but something must have gotten in me to make my legs pick up the pace to finish in under 40 minutes.  I definitely know not to expect this very often as I wouldn’t have been able to make it at this pace for a longer period of time, but it still feels like a good accomplishment!  I even ran so fast my headband flew off around mile 1 1/2 and didn’t notice it until I was done with my run – whoops!  I was definitely breathing and working hard, but since I have done four days of Insanity – it seems a lot easier, shall I say to push myself further.  Especially when no matter how much I push myself in running I don’t think I could ever sweat as much and get my heartbeat as high as those workouts do.  Thank you, sister, for making that spontaneous purchase.

Since my foot has been feeling almost back to normal (I think there is some residual muscle loss in my left leg from favoring it for so long), I decided to run out 4 miles, and then walk the 4 miles back.  I love starting off the weekend with a great workout!  Especially when there are cookies in store for later… ;).

When I got home the plan was to have oatmeal, but since I got back close to 11am, I definitely was not in the mood for breakfast.  So, I decided to use up a rice protein powder I have had in the cupboard instead and then shower and just eat lunch.  This was the second time I had this protein powder and I made it in the same way as last time, but fortunately for you I measured and photographed to share this post-run recovery drink.  I think this might become a staple for after my runs!

Iced Mocha Protein Recovery Drink

1. Blend all of the above ingredients in a blender.  The ice helps make it nice and cool.
2. Serve over ice with a straw, if desired.
Pretty good stats on this as well with only 100 calories and 12.5g of protein.
2 thoughts on “my ‘first’ long run of 1/2 marathon training

    • Chea riiight…. only if I run it twirling around in my skirt. And that might be a good idea – we’ve got to get some more vanilla flavor – I never had that one before.

Leave a Reply

