peanut butter pretzels

Saturday was a very good day.  My best friend, Ashley, came down for the afternoon and we went to the pumpkin patch!  Some may say that the pumpkin patch is for kids, but Ashley, Kinley and I had more fun than any of the other kids there that day.  It was almost a perfect fall day – although it was a bit windy with some gusts up to 20mph ;).  We took a hayride out to the pumpkin field and picked our pumpkins.  It took me awhile to pick one that I liked, they seemed to be pretty picked over already for there still being a couple weeks ’til Halloween!

After we picked our pumpkins and put them in the car, we went right back in to the corn maze.  I love going in corn mazes and have gone to one each year for the past 4-5 years.  I think part of why I like them so much is that for some reason I am extremely good at reading directions to get from one point to the next.  Occasionally I get turned around, but for the most part I am right on ;).

After we had our fun learning Wisconsin trivia in the Wisconsin-shaped corn maze (did you know Milwaukee was once known as Milloki?  Who knew!), we headed to a coffee shop to hang out some more.  There was a grocery store across the way and for some reason we still were up for some walking and decided to wander down the aisles – oh, what we do for fun…  Well, I passed by their various candies and treats and spotted peanut butter pretzels.  I had never had pretzels like these before, but I instantly wanted them and knew I (obviously) couldn’t have them.

Luckily, we were in a grocery store.  A grocery store that had gluten free pretzels and peanut butter chips not made on equipment shared with wheat!  Obviously we just had to pick these two items up and headed on our way.  And what we made was the most delicious confection I have had in quite some time.  I absolutely love pretzels, even more so when they are coated in chocolate.  And peanut butter is good on anything.  I had never had gluten free pretzels before these, and I was more than pleasantly surprised that they tasted just like I remembered!  These are my new favorite treat and absolutely perfect for fall!

Peanut Butter Pretzels multiply recipe as many times as you wish

1 serving gluten free pretzels (I used Snyder’s)
1 serving peanut butter chips
1-2t grapeseed oil
sprinkles (optional)

1.  In a double boiler, heat up the peanut butter chips with the grapeseed oil until melty and smooth.
2. Lay out a sheet of parchment paper and a handful of pretzels to coat.
3. Dip each pretzel individually in the peanut butter coating, twisting to make sure the peanut butter isn’t too thick (unless you want really thick coating).
4. Lay the coated pretzel on the wax paper and top with your desired sprinkles or decoration.
5. Let set up before trying to move them anywhere, although you don’t have to wait to eat them if you can’t stand it anymore!
6. Enjoy!

These would even be a fabulous activity for kids – although I think I have proven you don’t have to be a kid to enjoy Fall activities ;).

 

2 thoughts on “peanut butter pretzels

Leave a Reply

