disney 1/2 marathon training plan

Yesterday was the ‘official’ starting date of my Disney half marathon training plan, however today was the true test of whether or not this training plan was beginning this week.  Because of my pesky foot, I was unsure on whether I was going to be able to run or if I needed to wait a few more weeks and suffer through a steroid injection in my foot.  Well, the original plan for today was to run 3 miles, but I decreased that to 2 for a safer distance and starting point.

I actually did extra cross training yesterday.  I went to an hour power yoga session at my favorite studio, Strive, and Kinley and I went on a 5 mile walk.  The walk was more relaxing than anything else, especially in the gorgeous fall weather we have been experiencing the past couple of days (even though it has been SO windy).

I adapted my training plan from Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 training.  I made changes to the weeks that I am planning on running my 10ks (Haunted Hustle in Madison and Sugarmill Run in Hawaii), and also altered the days to best fit with when I wanted to run.  For cross training on Sunday and possibly Wednesdays, I will most likely be using the Insanity DVDs that Kinley bought last week (and should be coming shortly!) or a class at the gym I will probably be joining by the end of the month.  Mondays, possibly Wednesdays and Thursdays will be my week days runs, ranging between 2 and 5 miles.  I have no time goal for Disney since it’s my first race, so as long as I can run a majority of the distance I will be happy ;).  Tuesdays I will either go to Pilates or Yoga at my (future) gym, or yoga at Strive.  Fridays are listed as complete rest, but I will probably still walk with the pup around the block to losen up my legs.  Saturdays are the test – the long runs.  Starting at 4 miles and progressing up to 10 before the run.  As of December 4th, I will be in new territory as I have never ran over 7 miles at one time before.

I am really excited for my first half marathon training and hope my foot does not act up again.  But if it does, I will definitely not put up with it for weeks before going to see someone!  It’s hard to believe I signed up for this race in March – over 6 months ago, and now there are only 12 short weeks to go.  Ready or not, here I go!

And as of January 7th, 2012, I will have that lovely Donald Duck medal around my neck!

18 thoughts on “disney 1/2 marathon training plan

  1. First, your site looks really beautiful. I love the layout.

    And second, congrats on your half marathon training! So exciting. I’m actually very strongly leaning towards registering for the January half…so maybe I’ll see you there! 🙂

    • Thank you! It is still very much in progress but I started working on it again so hopefully I can get it to do what I want! Haha.

      I am so excited for training, it’s kind of sad – although I know I have to ease myself into it at this point! I don’t blame you for wanting to run another one already – looks like the Wine & Dine was awesome! I’m pretty jealous of your medal… 😉

  2. Pingback: my ‘first’ long run of 1/2 marathon training | Living the Gluten Free Life

  3. Pingback: monday in a flash | Living the Gluten Free Life

  4. Pingback: pre-gaming: haunted hustle | Living the Gluten Free Life

  5. Pingback: happy halloween! | Living the Gluten Free Life

  6. Pingback: Mileage Decrease. | Better off Barefoot

  7. Pingback: disney 1/2 training: 5 miles | Living the Gluten Free Life

  8. Pingback: race recap: haunted hustle 10k | Living the Gluten Free Life

  9. Pingback: race recap: old koloa sugar mill run 10k | Living the Gluten Free Life

  10. Pingback: disney 1/2 training: 7 miles | Living the Gluten Free Life

  11. Pingback: race recap: festival foods turkey trot | Living the Gluten Free Life

  12. Pingback: 12 days of cookies: gingerbread trees | Living the Gluten Free Life

  13. Pingback: disney 1/2 training: 9 miles | Living the Gluten Free Life

  14. Pingback: disney 1/2 training: 10 miles | Living the Gluten Free Life

  15. Pingback: snow run | Living the Gluten Free Life

  16. Pingback: race recap: walt disney world 1/2 marathon | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

