pumpkin pie steamer

I’ve been wanting a pumpkin spice latte a lot lately.  However I just cannot bring myself to get one from Starbucks, not even wanting to think about what ingredients they put in that flavored syrup to make it such a bright and colorful shade of orange.  I thought that Sunday afternoon would be the perfect chance to try my own pumpkin spice creation, albeit without the caffeine.  I feel like I could benefit from some additional caffeine today because of a crazy intense power yoga session this morning plus a 5ish mile walk around town in the gorgeous weather, but I know I don’t really need it and this more than satisfies the pumpkin craving.  Plus the frothed milk craving ;).

The original thinking of this recipe was to make it a pumpkin chai latte.  The picture is actually of a pumpkin chai latte.  I am currently drinking a pumpkin chai latte.  However, because of my sister’s not-so-happy-with-tea tummy, I made her this concoction instead and it totally beats the flavor of the one with the chai.  So, I offer to you the better of the two recipes, and the one we will be making many more times in the future.

Pumpkin Pie Steamer
  • 1 1/2 c unsweeteened vanilla almond milk
  • 1T pumpkin
  • 1t honey
  • .5t pumpkin pie spice
1.  In a small saucepan, bring the almond milk, pumpkin, honey and pumpkin pie spice (Trader Joe’s has it now!!) to a simmer, whisking often.
2.  You could just stop once it’s warm and drink as-is.  However, if you would like to froth the beverage, you can do the following.  Pour almond milk mixture into a magic bullet or blender, and blend away until nice and frothy.  I actually turned our magic bullet on its side to incorporate more air into the mixture and it was perfect.
3. Pour into a mug and sprinkle with a little more pumpkin pie spice.

Perfect pumpkin perfection.

5 thoughts on “pumpkin pie steamer

    • Hahaha and you were just going to drink it anyways… but no need sister, I can make up delicious things for you regardless of your stomach’s craziness ;).

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin. « Better off Barefoot

  2. Hi there! I just found your blog through Oh She Glows, and it’s awesome! (It’s always great to find other GF bloggers out there.) 🙂 And OMG, these pumpkin spice steamers look fantastic. I’m SO going to try this this weekend!

Leave a Reply

