long time no blog

photo by emilee liverance | emilee liverance photography
(just in case you forgot who I was 😉 )

It has been over 20 days since my last blog post.  I think that’s the longest stretch I’ve gone.  I wish I had a good excuse for not blogging, like I was traveling across Europe or something amazing like that, but no, I just wasn’t feeling up to it.  I had a definite lack of inspiration.  Everything I was writing was getting to the point it sounded dull to me and like it had no life in it.  I figured I would rather not blog than write things that sounded meaningless.  And if I didn’t even like how I was writing, why would anyone even care to read?

Well, for some reason I feel like inspiration is coming back to me, or that I need another creative outlet in my life right now.  A few things have changed, or rather happened, recently that have made me not so thrilled about life.  A major one being my foot.  I finally went to the doctor a week ago after having an ache in my left foot for three weeks before that point.  I would have/should have gone in earlier but I kept waiting for my new insurance cards to come in so I actually knew what was going to be covered.  I finally just asked for my number to be able to look up online what my coverage was and was able to make an appointment that same day.  Luckily my office got to leave at noon last week (still not sure why but I would never question this 😉 ), so I had plenty of time to call around to find someone to go to.

I got frustrated with the online search to find a doctor to visit and decided I would pay the $75 (instead of $30) copay to visit the urgent care rather than find a doctor who could help.  Well, luckily the clinic I ended up calling (because it looked the prettiest/newest) did not have urgent care during the week but the receptionist was so helpful in helping me find a doctor who had availability that same day.

I had looked up the pain I was having online and had convinced myself that I had a stress fracture from running.  The pain was in the exact place that normal foot stress fractures happen and it was very tender and I was barely able to walk without limping and causing a scene.  This of course made me really worried, especially since I was supposed to start my Disney 1/2 Marathon training on October 16th, but some stress fractures take months to heal, especially when they are on highly utilized areas so I also had myself convinced that I would not be able to run the race at all.  So of course I went in expecting the worst.  I also thought that I would experience the first x-ray/bone scan in my life.

So I went in, the doctor felt my foot and asked me questions on where I was experiencing pain.  He wasn’t a Podietrist, but he was very doubtful that it was a fracture of any kind.  He said it was more than likely tendonitis from running.  I think it does, unfortunately, have a bit to do with my new minimalist running shoes and that there is not a whole lot of cushion on the sole of the foot.  I may or may not have over-worn them one particular week because I wasn’t using my head…  The doctor was first going to have me take 9 ibuprofen a day – much more aggressive than the 1 I had been taken (hence the not getting better).  He then rethought that since I had been taken some ibuprofen and prescribed a steroid to decrease the swelling.

I do think it’s kind of humerus that I am on a steroid – just waiting for my muscles to start bulging!  The swelling has gone down considerably in the past week and I still have two more pills to take.  I can’t tell yet if that’s going to be enough or if I will have to go on to step 2 – going to see a Podietrist to get steroid injections.  Needless to say, my marathon training will be put off for a couple of weeks until my foot is 100% better.  I’m still walking more than I should be on it (I just can’t be lazy), and still going to yoga, but that is a whole lot less stress on my foot than running.  So, if my Monday my foot still has this now-dull ache, it’s on to a Podietrist.  I was told this is something that can be healed and not come back again, but I just have to get it to GO AWAY so that I can start my training in a better place.

I even had an awesome 12-week training plan constructed that I will not have to reconfigure.  I think I’ll still post my original so I can look back to it in the future for when I do not have tendonitis and am beginning training for a 1/2.

Apparently I am feeling a bit more wordy and inspired.  Or frustrated and can’t run to release the frustration.  Either way, I think I’ll be picking blogging back up for the time being ;).

5 thoughts on “long time no blog

  1. Pingback: disney 1/2 marathon training plan | Living the Gluten Free Life

  2. Pingback: my ‘first’ long run of 1/2 marathon training | Living the Gluten Free Life

  3. Pingback: race recap: haunted hustle 10k | Living the Gluten Free Life

  4. Pingback: nashville 2012: week 2 | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

