pannenkoeken

We have very unique recipes in my family.  Recipes I used to think of as “normal” but not ones that many other people would eat on a regular basis.  Johnny Cake (aka a sweeter cornbread) with baked beans + hot dogs, crazy pancakes (might have to re-create this at some point), Hungarian Goulash, Chipped Beef on Toast with peas… I could go on but I’ll refrain.  When my sister and I were no longer little kids, she took over most of the cooking so a lot of what we had eaten when we were younger mostly went away.  We would have something every once in awhile, but it was not a common occurrence.  One thing that continued to stay around throughout life was Pannenkoeken (I think that’s how you spell it?).  We would often have it after church when we were visiting the grandparents.  Grandpa would slice up a bunch of apples, cook them with a whole stick of butter, and then top it with an eggy, cakey topping.  All topped off with cinnamon, sugar, and of course maple syrup!  (Just hopefully not the water + maple extract that was once served… don’t ask) Last Saturday was our first trip to the apple orchard so naturally we were thinking of something to cook for breakfast with apples!  Luckily, my sister had a good memory and thought of the delicious pannenkoeken of yesteryear.  One major change was no gluten and way less butter (or butter substitute).  We also made it in four individual dishes from Crate&Barrel, but you could easily make it in a 9×13″ baking pan.

Pannenkoeken

  • 4t butter (or equivalent)
  • 2-3 apples
  • cinnamon (+sugar if you wish)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 c millet flour
  • 3/4 c sorghum flour
  • optional toppings: cinnamon+sugar, maple syrup, powdered sugar
1.  Preheat the oven to 425′.
2. Place 1t of butter per dish and place in the oven to melt.
3. Core and slice the apples and layer on the bottom of the dish.  Sprinkle with cinnamon+sugar (or just cinnamon) and ~1t water and bake for 10 minutes.
4. Mix the remaining ingredients and pour over the partially cooked apples.
5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through.
6. Top with the toppings of your choice!
This recipe really brought me back.  I did not think it was actually going to be similar to what I had been used to, but it really was.  The cooked apples in the bottom make the entire thing so flavorful and delicious, and I think apples and maple syrup is one of my favorite combinations!  We each ate one of these for breakfast on Sunday morning and then heated up the other ones in the oven on Monday morning as a special Monday treat!

It’s so nice knowing that I don’t have to feel deprived from family memories revolving around food.  Although I’ll have to work on my grandma’s sugar cookie cutout recipes before Christmas!  Not sure how I’m going to survive without hers… ;).
2 thoughts on “pannenkoeken

  1. And there was sugar in that little “water and maple extract” concoction you refer to :S! If we ever need to save money, maybe we can start “brewing” our own syrup too??

    And I think up next on the recreation list should be Hungarian Golosh!! (sp?)

    • Well I stayed clear away from that concoction… If I ever don’t have enough money for syrup I’m moving to the wilderness and buying a maple tree tapper to get my own. Luckily gma+gpa are currently funding our maple syrup!

      Goulash sounds good! Definitely should try that but not with onions… Why didn’t you check the spelling in my post?!

Leave a Reply

