hp 7.2

I love Harry Potter and I’m not afraid to admit it.  I remember reading the first Harry Potter book – just after the start of the new year in 2000.  Wow, time really does fly!  The reason I remember it so well is because it was when we got our pup, Crosby (we picked him up on January 1, 2000 since the world didn’t end haha).  Kinley received the book from our Aunt and Uncle for Christmas and we were hooked immediately.  The only bad thing about being obsessed in 2000 is that we still had to wait for four books to come out!

Any HP fan cannot go to London without visiting King's Cross

In fact, you can tell how deep our obsession was early on because I can remember going to Media Play (a local electronic/book store) at midnight to pick up the Goblet of Fire when it came out as a book.  I can also say that I have successfully seen each and every Harry Potter film during opening weekend, and I believe the first few I even made it twice during the first week.  Now those were the days!

Kinley and I (during her visit) trying to get through to Platform 9 3/4 - that darn Dobby must have locked us out!

Every time a new book or movie would come out, you could bet I would be among the first to read/see it.  I loved it and the books definitely made me an avid reader – most books were done within two days and I was seriously trying to read as slowly as possible.  And then I would read it again.  One summer a few years ago I actually made it through each and every book, one right after the other.  It was brilliant.

The Great Hall at Christ's Church in Oxford, used for Hogwart's Great Hall in the first two movies

I am sad to say that tonight is the last time I will be able to partake in the opening weekend of any release for the Harry Potter franchise!  I feel like I have grown up with the characters, being only 11 when I first read the books I was very close to the ages of the characters in each book, which helped me to connect with them even more.  I think my Harry Potter obsession also might have had something to do with why I wanted to study abroad in London.  And you can be sure that I saw my fair share of the Harry Potter sites around the country.  Although I am sorry to say that I did not take the guided tour – had to leave something for next time I visit, right?

These exact steps were used by Harry, Ron, Hermione and the rest of the Gryffindors when entering Hogwarts in the first movie

I  will never grow out of Harry Potter.  I am already planning a day to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter when I travel to Orlando in Janurary to run in the Disney 1/2 Marathon.  I. Can’t. Wait.  I am sad to see the Harry Potter Era come to a close, although I know that it will be with me forever and I can’t wait to be able to share it with my future kids down the line.  I just hope they become addicted as much as I am or I might have to return them for new ones ;).

The Millennium Bridge - destroyed in HP6

See you one last time tonight, Harry, Ron & Hermione!

Karli, Jennifer and me trying to fit in with Harry during our trip to Oxford 🙂

I might even wear my glasses ;).

3 thoughts on “hp 7.2

Leave a Reply

