pre-race fuel

I do not have a long history with running, as I have said before.  It is relatively new in my life and I am still trying to figure out how to best fuel my body for short and (more importantly) long runs.  I obviously know pasta is a huge tradition for pre-race dinners.  Spaghetti nights being very common the night before a long run or race.  But since recently eliminating gluten from my diet, it has become harder to fill my meals up with carbs.  I used to eat a sandwich every day, something that I rarely have since the bread I now buy is more expensive than my previous gluten-filled sprouted wheat bread.

A simple carbo-loading night is now not quite as simple.  No plain spaghetti for us.  So when Kinley was gearing up to run in the Summerfest 1/2 marathon, we had to think of something that would help her get through her run.  What did we end up with?  Pancakes!

We had somewhat of a pancake party as my friend, Ashley, was spending the night.  She brought her own mix, but Kinley whipped up a delicious recipe we have been using that was inspired by the recipe Weekend Pancakes Made Easy in the cookbook, Vegan Yum Yum.

Gluten Free Oatmeal Pancakes (the picture above is actually a triple recipe, so don’t be concerned when you don’t make a pile of pancakes with the below measurements 😉 )

makes 2-3 servings

  • 1 c oat flour
  • 1/3c millet flour
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 2T ground flax
  • 1cup non-dairy milk (plus more milk or water if needed to thin out batter)
  • 2T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1t vanilla

1. Whisk together the flours, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and flax.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the milk, applesauce and vanilla.

3. Mix the wet ingredients to the dry and add more liquid if necessary.

4. Preheat a skillet over medium-high heat and cook until golden brown on the one side, flip and cook the other side to golden-brown as well.

*It also works to keep cooked pancakes in a 250* preheated oven if you wanted to make up the whole batch before serving!

I love my pancakes topped with banana, almond butter, coconut butter and of course pure maple syrup – but use any of your favorite toppings (or mix-ins!).

These definitely helped Kinley carbo-load for her race!

11 thoughts on “pre-race fuel

  1. I could go for some pancakes right about now 🙂 And why does Crosby look like he thinks that plate is for his big belly?

  2. Pingback: chunky + creamy | My Search of Summer

  3. Pingback: what to pack for an out-of-town race | My Search of Summer

  4. Pingback: what i ate wednesday #11 | My Search of Summer

  5. Pingback: what to pack for an out-of-town race | Living the Gluten Free Life

  6. Pingback: chunky + creamy | Living the Gluten Free Life

  7. Pingback: national pancake day! | Living the Gluten Free Life

  8. Pingback: WIAW: “Carbo-Loading” Edition | Better off Barefoot

Leave a Reply

