born to run

I recently read Christopher McDougall’s book, Born to Run.  My sister read it first and told me that I would really like it, so I started off my summer reading with it.  Well, I am probably one of the last runners to read this book, but any runner (or want-to-be runner) who has not yet found the chance to read it, I urge you to do so this summer.

It was so entertaining and I rarely wanted to put it down.  It is not a how-to explanation of running, but reads like fiction and is entirely true.  It gave me an overwhelming urge to go out and run which is awesome motivation :).  It also made me want to go out and eat like the Tarahumara, mainly to see if I could feel any difference when I used their main ingredients in foods that I prepare.

Luckily, I didn’t have to create any recipes myself because No Meat Athlete has a download with a few recipes focused around Pinole and Chia, two of the main ingredients in the Tarahumara diet.  Chia is definitely not new to me, I easily eat it every day but I had never heard of Pinole.  It is basically toasted corn meal (there are instructions on how to prepare it in the book as well).  I made the Buckwheat Pinole Pancakes (as waffles instead) a couple weeks ago for dinner and they were absolutely delicious and filling because of the ingredients.  I’m not going to give away the recipe here because I want to support NMA’s cookbook he put together.  I have learned a lot about running and nutrition for running from the NMA’s website and if you are interested in Fueling your Run the Tarahumara Way, definitely check out his ebook.

So go out and get the book from the library, order the ebook, and be ready to run.

5 thoughts on “born to run

  1. I’ve heard good things about that book! I’m definitely going to pick it up this summer. thanks for the review 🙂

  2. Pingback: minimalist | My Search of Summer

Leave a Reply

