yes, this would happen to me

I mentioned in my post on Tuesday that I was heading to a job interview that afternoon, and I figured I would share the events surrounding my afternoon to be able to look back and see how completely ridiculous my life really is!

We ended up having terribly thunderstorms starting around 3pm.  Rain, thunder, lightning, it was crazy.  Luckily, even with my lazy nature kicking in that day, I was showered and pretty much ready to leave except for still being in sweats.  Part of the ‘assignment’ for my interview was to create a few promotional items and I would be pitching to the President and the Assistant General Manager.  I had everything done, and I printed them off around 3:15pm and put them in my padfolio so I was all set to go!

Around 3:30pm the power went out… and then briefly flickered back on and then went off again.  I didn’t think too much of it because I thought that it would flicker back on again soon.  Well… it didn’t… so I decided I would grab a snack since I was headed to a hard yoga class after the interview and did not want to go too hungry.  3:45pm I was done eating… power still not on.  So I brushed my teeth (in the dark), got dressed (in the dark), and grabbed my purse (you guessed it, in the dark) and headed out the door with padfolio in hand.  I hit the garage door opener…

Yeah, power was out.  Crap.  It was almost 4pm.  What to do?  Call dad.  Had to find the key to get in the side door of the garage.  Luckily it was not raining any longer so I wasn’t getting drenched.  Per his instruction, I pulled the red hangy thingy (technical term I think?), lifted up on the door and it only went up about a foot.  Crap.  Called dad again, he told me I needed to overpower it.  Okay, so I took off my cardigan and went to the garage door again.  Pulled it up… found my inner strength/adrenaline, and pushed that sucker up.  YES!

Got in the car, pulled the car out, and went back to close the door.  Crap.  I’m too short to reach the door…  I thought about leaving it up but wasn’t really liking the idea of our grill and bikes being left with an open garage door, because you never know who may be lurking around the neighborhood.  So what do I do?  Grab the garden rake.  Yes, garden rake.  I positioned it at the top of the garage door and pulled with all my might to close the door.  Got it!  Ran back out the side door, jumped in the car, turned the AC on full blast and drove on my way.

I was 2 minutes late.  Of course I had not saved their number in my phone so I could not call ahead.  I would have been fine with time but Milwaukee traffic can never behave when you need it to.  Thankfully, it wasn’t a problem and I was told that the President was not even going to make it to my interview because he got caught up with something else.  I still pitched my idea to the Assistant General Manager who seemed to like it, and she took notes and was going to give it to the President when he returned.  I was emailed yesterday morning as well and was told the President was impressed with my work – still waiting on the next step!

This was my third interview with the company (1 phone + 1 in-person with the President).  Based on review of the promotional items, I will be in for a fourth interview with the president (since he wasn’t at this one)… and then finally be on to the final interview.  It is safe to say that this is the greatest number of interviews I will [hopefully as long as I get to the next 2 rounds] ever go on.  I am praying it’s worth it in the end and I get the position.  I see it as a great fit for me so it’s just convincing the President and Assistant GM to see it too!  Hopefully the events surrounding the next two rounds do not compete with the events of this one!  At least I’ve got a story to share ;).

2 thoughts on “yes, this would happen to me

  1. Pingback: there must be light at the end of the tunnel | My Search of Summer

  2. Pingback: there must be light at the end of the tunnel | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

