life is short… running makes it seem longer

Race Bib, iPod, Nike+, Race Chip

That quote makes me chuckle every time I read it :).  Kinley found it last night while searching for various quotes to potentially be put on some t-shirts in the future (when my friend Ashley and I cheer on Kinley for the Summerfest 1/2 marathon coming up!).

So let’s talk about my race!  I wrote about my nervousness this past Friday, which eased up as the day went on.  Kinley and I drove up to Green Bay to spend the night so we didn’t have to deal with an extremely early drive on Saturday morning (since the race started at 8!).  We packed a picnic-type meal to have as dinner to avoid having anything strange the night before.

I slept terribly on both Thursday and Friday night.  I’m not sure if it was being nervous for the race or if it was from being not as active to avoid having tired legs for the race.  Possibly a combination :).  We woke up super early on Saturday to be able to eat something and get to the race on time.  They had record-breaking registration of over 18,000 runners so there were a lot of people to deal with!  Luckily they had a shuttle that ran from Bay Park Square Mall (only a mile from our hotel), so we decided to take that rather than attempt to find parking closer by.  It ended up working great!  It was just a little chilly having to leave our sweaters behind and walk in the 50*-60* temperature in tank tops!

Ready to leave the hotel!

Once we got to the park, we walked toward our corral.  It was the first year the corral system was in place.  We were in the 5th, so only strollers and walkers were behind us.  I think corral 5 was basically anyone who didn’t run under an 8 minute mile!  Or at least it felt that way with the thousands of people around us.  The corral started moving at 8am… and my race didn’t begin until 8:25am… that’s how long it took to get to the starting line.  I don’t even want to know what it was like in years previous without corrals because it was still insane with them.

Standing in Corral 5

Kinley and I decided to split up while running.  She runs quite a bit faster than I do currently and with all of the people we figured it was best to just meet up at the finish line.  The first mile out I was just trying to find my rhythm.  Attempting to go slowly to start to make sure I didn’t wear myself out before the 1/2 way point.  I felt awesome though, it was hard to try and pace myself :).  I couldn’t believe I was actually running this thing, seeming as a year ago I couldn’t make it down the block…  I may or may not have gotten a little teary eyed at one point when it finally hit me I was running in this thing.  It was also an amazing feeling actually passing other runners/walkers along the way – I don’t care if that makes me a terrible person but I loved knowing I wasn’t the slowest person!

I felt strong throughout the entire race, which is a feeling I didn’t even get at the 5k I did last November (even though I walked part of that race).  I started strong, I ran strong, and I finished strong.  I even felt like I could have gone a couple of extra miles!  I am definitely ready for another race – I just loved the atmosphere and the dose of adrenaline I got from being around everyone else!  My official race time was 1:04:03 – the fastest I have ever ran a 10k during training which makes it my new PR!  And my average pace per mile was 10:19, not too shabby for my only goal being to make it through the race!

I am in no way the fastest runner, nor will I likely ever be the fastest runner.  But I ran to the best of my abilities and I know I have more in me for the future.  I can’t wait for my next race to do it all over again!  One last thing… I haven’t been sore at all.  Which is amazing and must go to show I trained properly and ran properly since my body recovered no problem!  We’ll see if that’s still the case when I start increasing distances ;).

Almost crossing the finish line!

With my post-race banana and finisher's metal! It was the first year the Bellin has given out race metals since it's their 35th anniversary!

8 thoughts on “life is short… running makes it seem longer

  1. Pingback: my water obsession | My Search of Summer

  2. Pingback: race recap: summerfest rock ‘n sole | My Search of Summer

  3. Pingback: out and about in gb: the urban frog | My Search of Summer

  4. Pingback: Walt Disney World Half Marathon, Here I Come! | Healthy Disney

  5. Pingback: out and about in gb: the urban frog | Living the Gluten Free Life

  6. Pingback: race recap: summerfest rock ‘n sole | Living the Gluten Free Life

  7. Pingback: my water obsession | Living the Gluten Free Life

  8. Pingback: race recap: haunted hustle 10k | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

