mission: muffin

Kinley had some Amazon money to spend, and when she decided to get a few cookbooks I was quite happy with her decision!  I especially liked the vegan options because I don’t have to worry about subbing out dairy in anything, although knowing me, I probably will still sub away.

We’re big into muffins.  As evident with the muffin recipes I posted last week and the week before last.  I’m still on a mission to find the best muffin recipe ever, but can never quite settle on what flavor I want!  This week I was feeling a little green… zucchini bread green.  Thus, when the book, eat, drink & be vegan, had a recipe for Zucchini Spelt Muffins, I knew what I was going to be making.  Especially now that farmer’s markets are opening and zucchini will soon be in abundance ;).  I made quite a few tweaks to the original recipe, so the recipe below is not the one you will find in eat, drink & be vegan.

Zucchini Spelt Muffins (adapted from eat, drink & be vegan)

  • 2T flax meal
  • 1/2 cup + 2T unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup ripe banana (1 medium)
  • 1 1/2 cup grated zucchini (1 large or 2 small)
  • 1T maple syrup
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1/4c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 2t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 2 1/2t baking powder
  • 1/2t baking soda

1. Combine flax and almond milk, set aside.  Mix together the mashed banana and grated zucchini in a large bowl.  Add in the mixture of flax and almond milk as well as the maple syrup, vanilla and unsweetened applesauce.

2. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the spelt flour, sea salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder and baking soda.

3. Add the dry ingredients into the wet mixture and combine until fully incorporated.

4. Spoon into 12 baking cups.  Bake in a preheated 375* oven for 22-25 minutes.  My muffins stayed quite moist because of the zucchini even though they were completely baked, so if your toothpick comes out a little moist that’s okay.

These muffins turned out amazing.  The book said their recipe made 9-12 muffins… not sure what size muffin pans they were using but mine made 12 heaping muffins – just how I like them ;).

Leave a Reply

