veggie pizza remix

I love veggies.  And I also love pizza.  Veggie pizza?  Oh man, this used to be one of my downfalls at any gathering that had it.  Typical veggie pizzas call for crescent dough rolled out into a “crust”, topped with cream cheese with something mixed in and then topped with the only actually healthy part – the veggies.  I am guessing the small proportion of veggies to the other components is one of the reasons it is so popular for a ‘vegetable dish’ ;).

I have not had the previously mentioned veggie pizza in quite some time, as I no longer eat dairy and crescent rolls are pretty low on the list of nutrient-filled foods.  Thus, I was extremely happy when Kinley compiled the following concoction to recreate a veggie pizza for my grad party!  First, she turned to The Gracious Pantry for her Clean Eating Thin Crust Pizza.  If you subbed out the honey in the crust for agave or some other non-honey sweetener, this entire pizza would easily be vegan.

Once the pizza crust was baked and cooled, she topped it with Non-Dairy Cream Cheese and also mixed in dried garlic and dill.  This was my first tasting of non-dairy cream cheese, and boy was it ever better than any cream cheese I remember!  Even the relatives who initially turned their nose up at “tofu cream cheese” licked the container clean…

The final component?  Shredded carrots and chunked up broccoli, but do what you’d like here.  There are infinite possibilities.

This was a hit.  It was gone less than 2 hours after the party started.  No lie.  And no one knew it wasn’t actually cream cheese.

This picture has nothing to do with veggies or pizza… but it was another one of the beautiful flower arrangements out at my party.  Thanks Aunt Jody for putting these all together with the two bunches of flowers I picked up at Trader Joe’s!  I just love hydrangeas.  

One thought on “veggie pizza remix

Leave a Reply

