the 80’s are here again

It was in the mid to upper 80’s today.  In my mind I have been waiting for it to finally warm up enough so that I’m not continually cold all the time, but once the heat finally hits I am just never ready for it!  Living in Wisconsin, we only have about 2 months of summer as it is, and this year it has been even worse so far.  I feel like we maybe have only had around 5 truly nice spring or summery days.  Well, summer did in fact hit today (curious as Memorial Day is the unofficial start of summer), and I have a nice little sunburn to go along with it.  At least I am no longer the color of paper…

One thing that is hard for me to do in the summer, especially when the air conditioning is not quite ready to be turned on, is to bake.  I tried out this recipe a little over a week ago (no baking involved!), and it turned out magnificent.  Definitely a keeper.

Decadent Date & Pecan Brownies

adapted from a recipe posted on Earth Balance 

  • 2 cups raw pecans
  • 2 cups chopped and pitted dates
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder* (Trader Joe’s worked awesome in this)
  • 1/2T agave syrup
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • water

1. Put pecans in food processor and pulse until they’re in small pieces.  Add in the dates and pulse a few times, or until incorporated.

2. Add in the cocoa powder, agave, sea salt and about 2-4T of water (to hold mixture together).

3. Press into a 9×9 (or similar) baking dish.  Put in the fridge.

  • 1/4 cup(s) of agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1T natural peanut butter

4. In a blender, process agave, almond milk, cocoa powder and peanut butter until smooth.

5. Pour the topping over the brownies and set in the refrigerator.

Along with being a no-bake recipe, these are also raw, gluten-free and vegan, but I don’t think anyone could ever guess!  These are incredible rich brownies, so be sure to have a nice glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk to go along side!

*In a repeat making of this recipe, I used Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder.  I do not recommend using this cocoa powder in the recipe.  The recipe did not turn out like it did the first time and the whole batch ended up in the garbage :/.

4 thoughts on “the 80’s are here again

  1. Kelsey-We went gluten free, dairy free and sugar free in March. This recipe looks awesome and “in-bounds” for us. Thanks!

    • Tabitha, so I must ask, why did your family decide to go away from gluten, dairy and sugar? I am dairy-free and have tried to keep gluten consumption to a minimum. I have also severely cut back on sugar and can’t believe how much of a difference it makes! I ended up having too much this weekend and I still am not back to my normal self… definitely will not do that again. I am always curious as to how others get to this point!

  2. Gretchen was diagnosed ADHD and we explored how to help her without meds. A nutritionist we sought recommend going DF, GF, SF an WOW!!!! Such a difference!!! We’ve been traveling this weekend and didn’t plan well she’s had a few “cheat” meals and is now completely a space cadet. We’ll definitely be getting here back on the diet for the summer.

Leave a Reply

