what i ate wednesday #1

I noticed a few other bloggers were participating in “What I Ate Wednesday”, or WIAW.  I thought it would be fun to post everything that I ate today, just so I can compare how my foods and tastes change and develop over time.  So basically, the following is what I ate today – which is somewhat typical to what I eat every day! I did start out my day earlier than I have been – 5:15am… I had to drive to my parents to drop my little puppy, Crosby, off at the vet to get his teeth cleaned.
Breakfast:
Overnight Oats in a Jar
1/3c old-fashioned oats
1 banana, mashed
1T cocoa powder
1T chia seeds
1c unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I think next time I will either switch this to 3/4c or add an extra 1T chia to help it get thicker)
+topped with 1T natural peanut butter in the morning
Simply mix all ingredients together and let them thicken up in the fridge overnight (or at least 2 hours), such an easy grab-and-go breakfast in the morning!  I also had some coffee + soymilk for the drive!
Mid-Morning Snack:
Since I got up earlier than I have been used to, I needed a mid-morning snack to tide me over until lunch.  I accidentally ate almost all of my pineapple before a picture… whoops ;).
Lunch:
Leftover dinner from last night (recipe here!) + dollop of hummus.
Carrots & Sugar Snap Peas
Afternoon Snack:
Since I was home, I met up with a friend for coffee in the early afternoon. I got a small soy latte. I also had plantain chips & an apple later on.
Dinner:
Coconut Cashew Pancakes w/ an Egg
We don’t have breakfast for dinner very often… but breakfast is by far my favorite meal :). Crosby’s mouth was also a little sore from the dental and pancakes are one of his favorite meals so he got his own little coconut-less pancake. We used Bob’s Red Mill Pancake mix with toasted coconut added to the backside of the pancake, and then topped them with peanut butter, cashews, coconut butter & more toasted coconut – YUM!
7 thoughts on “what i ate wednesday #1

  1. Pingback: one “pot” wonder | My Search of Summer

  2. Pingback: one “pot” wonder | Living the Gluten Free Life

Leave a Reply

