what makes me, me

This is a hard question for me to answer. Why would anyone read what I write? Well, I have spent plenty of time on other blogs reading, learning and picking up recipes (to be quite honest, it’s a little bit of an obsession of mine), so I decided to combine what I have learned as well as impart some of my own experience to hopefully help others avoid some of the errors I have made along the way.  I also mentioned previously that I managed a different blog when I was studying abroad in London. I did that mainly to keep in contact with friends and family since it was hard to keep everyone updated individually! I really enjoyed it and found out that I was actually a fairly good writer. I was told by many people that they enjoyed reading my updates and there were requests to keep something going once I returned, but I never ended up getting anything set up since I didn’t think I had anything to write about anymore. So there’s a brief history of my blogging!

And why did I decide to get into blogging again? As I was nearing the end of my education without a job in sight, I knew I would need to do something to both help fill my free time as well as potentially help in my job search (marketing + blogging = good experience). Keeping a handle on my writing is also a benefit of pushing myself to write informatively and continuing to (try to) make things intriguing!  So, starting a blog was a no brainer. Now, for the topic…

I’m basing it off of things I am passionate for. Baking (and some cooking), running, yoga, traveling and marketing are all things I truly enjoy and love doing and try to do as much as I can and being able to experience a little bit of everything will definitely help my time to pass during the days.

A small fraction of what I baked this past December

My love of baking goes waaay back, I have always had a sweet tooth and being able to make my own treats was always my preference. I’ve even had a small Christmas cookie business the past few years which has always been a highlight of my December, albeit an incredibly stressful time in my life! Owning a bakery at some point in my life would be incredible (I’ve got a lot of dreams 😉 ). My baking style has changed quite a bit from the early days of experimenting with recipes, including the recipes I used this past Christmas, which will be evident in future posts I’m sure!

This is the only picture I have of me running (from NYC trip in January)

Running on the other hand is a relatively recent endeavor, I’ll go more in depth on my history of running sometime in the near future.  I like to read about other people’s journey to running or other exercising, so I will share my story with you guys.  And I have definitely grown to love it over the past few months, and having the Disney 1/2 marathon to look forward to in January 2012 definitely has me motivated to keep going!

No pictures of me doing yoga either... but I have the green mat and it is AMAZING!

Yoga has been a part of my life for the past year and my practice has grown a lot in that time. I am doing poses I never thought I would be able to do, and I know there is still so much more that I am hoping to accomplish in the future! I try to practice at least two times a week, (shout out to Strive Yoga!), and if I can’t make it there I have some DVD’s I also enjoy.

London is my favorite 🙂

Traveling has always been a passion since my first airplane trip when I was 4, but I really got to experience it when I studied abroad and got to not only be in London, but also the entire United Kingdom (Scotland & Wales), Ireland, France, Belgium, Italy and Germany. I have traveled around the US quite a bit as well, but there are still so many places to go! I’ll have to do some look-backs on my favorite highlights in each country.

Oh Twitter...

Finally, I must admit I am a bit of a marketing junkie. I’m relatively new to the marketing world but I try to keep myself up-to-date on all the hot marketing news. I also love social media, but hate Twitter.  I have one, I have followers, but I’ve only tweeted like 30 times in the last year and a half… maybe I’ll find enjoyment in it one day… maybe… don’t hold your breath.

As you can see, I enjoy doing a lot of different things and like to stay busy. As the blog progresses I will go further into each one of my passions. In addition to what I listed above, I am also focused on nutrition and living as healthily as I can which will be reflected in my posts. Having extra free time this summer will give me time to train for upcoming runs as well as spend time in the kitchen to experiment with more nutrient-dense recipes. I am looking to do a few day/weekend trips over the summer as well (having/not having a job will greatly impact what I can afford to do!). Hopefully my blog will end up being well balanced and enjoyable to both myself and my (future) readers!

3 thoughts on “what makes me, me

Leave a Reply

