out and about in mke: classic slice

I really do love pizza.  The crust, the sauce, the toppings… yum.  The best pizza I ever had?  Well, I’ve got to give that to some random shop in Florence, but I am not getting that again any time soon.  I have not gotten any take-out or delivery pizza since going dairy-free.  It’s not the cheese factor I’m worried about (cheese-less pizza is still delicious in my book), it’s the dairy put in the crust at a lot of these pizza places!  Definitely NOT good.

So when I heard of a pizza place with vegan options, I perked up.  Vegan = no dairy (or eggs, honey, etc.), so I wouldn’t even have to worry about it!  Classic Slice is by no means purely vegan (or even vegetarian), so there are plenty of options for everyone.  Their dough however, is purely vegan!  And they also have dairy-free cheese, vegan sausage and tofu to add as toppings on your pizza.

Kinley picked up pizza and breadsticks for dinner last Friday night.  Classic Slice has two Milwaukee locations, on the north and the south side so it’s fairly convenient!  We ended up getting the Super Veggie Pizza with a side of Soy Cheese Stix.  We got a medium size of the pizza and the thing was HUGE!  The only complaint is I asked for it with tofu and it came with the vegan sausage which was SPICY.  But it wasn’t noticed until Kinley brought it home and there was no way we were going to drive all the way back to have them remake it…  The Soy Cheese Stix were incredible.  This was only my second experience with soy cheese and it did not disappoint!

View Full Menu

Classic Slice  on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “out and about in mke: classic slice

    • Unfortunately they do not have gluten free crusts… wish they did. I know Marchese’s Olive Pit in Milwaukee has a gluten free option as does a few others in Milwaukee, but I’ve never tried any. Probably will at some point in the future, and will definitely be trying some new gluten, dairy and refined sugar free recipes soon! It seems to be what my body appreciates the most :).

  1. Just had the soy cheese six and yes, they certainly are incredible!

    I use Daiya shreds all the time, which can be found @ WholeFoods, Outpost, and now recently Woodmans as well, and I think they may be using a spiced version of this for the stix. It’s easily the best Vegan cheese.

    Either way thanks for the pix, they always help for sharing to fb!

Leave a Reply

