out and about in mke: coa

Coa Restaurant.  The Heart of Mexican Street Food.

I have gone to Coa a few times, I do love mexican food and they put a nice spin on it.  It is conveniently located in Bayshore Mall, which has free parking (as long as you can find space in their lots/parking garages)!  I also love their chips, they are some of the best tortilla chips I have ever eaten.  They use their fresh corn tortillas (made in house I believe), and fry them to deliciousness.  I’m pretty sure their chips are one of the main reason I chose Coa to be my  post-graduation dinner spot… that and guacamole :).

Coa’s claim to fame is their “street food” concept, focused around mix and match street tacos.  This was my first time visiting since I switched to be a vegetarian, even though I have had a few of their vegetarian menu items in the past.  While the vegetarian fare is not overwhelming, it’s a pretty good variety for the average vegetarian.  The Coa Nachos, Grilled Street Corn, Queso Fundido, Black Bean Soup, as well as the Calabacitas and Rajas fillings for the street tacos are listed as vegetarian on their menu.  Some of their other options could probably be made vegetarian if asked (but I had chips on my mind).

Plus, I gave up dairy recently, which limited my options tremendously since their cheese is on everything!  As I can remember, the cheese they use is delicious but I didn’t feel like doing that to my body!  We ended up eating later in the evening since it was after my graduation ceremony, so I was in a more snacking type mood.  I started my meal with a Light Margarita (white wine with fresh squeezed lime – YUM!).  I love this drink, it’s super refreshing and a great option if you’re not a fan of tequila.  For my “meal”, I ended up indulging in their chips and got the Coa Nachos (no cheese or crema) and we got an extra side of guacamole before the meal (the only complaint for this is it came with CHEESE on top – never expected guac to come with that.  If you are avoiding dairy make sure you specify it without the cheese!).

Other items I have had in the past include the black bean soup (I wonder if you can get it without the crema to be dairy free?  Might have to ask next time), as well as the grilled street corn appetizer.  I have also had their enchiladas and burritos during my other dining experiences at Coa, and are also delicious as far as I can remember.  You’d just have to check if you get the basic version if it would be vegetarian (unless it doesn’t matter to you).

For a local Milwaukee restaurant, I am actually fairly impressed with their vegetarian offerings.  I do wish they would list more of their items if they are in fact vegetarian (namely the burritos and enchiladas), just to make it easier to know without needing to ask.

So if you’re looking for a new mexican dining experience and you are in the Milwaukee area, I highly recommend Coa, for vegetarians and meat eaters alike!  To view their menu, click here.  And here’s a plus, they also have BRUNCH on Sunday.

I am not paid for any reviews I do, nor do I receive anything free.  I am simply a blogger who loves to eat and go out to restaurants in Milwaukee.



COA on Urbanspoon

One thought on “out and about in mke: coa

Leave a Reply

